Starting with Ironjawz

Turt99

Hey All, 

I am just getting into Age of Sigmar, well actually Warhammer in general, and I am looking for some advice. I am looking to run Ironjawz, and I am curious about what to build. At this point I have a Megaboss on foot, and a Start Collecting box. I am getting close to having this all painted (see images below), so I am thinking about where to expand. 

It seems that locally a 1000 point list would be a great starting point. One option I see is a second Start Collecting box, for the extra Ardboyz and Gruntas, but I also see a big call for the Brutes. 

1) The option of a second Start Collecting box is cheaper, but am I going to find that my list is extremely weak without Brutes at all? 

2) For an average player that is likely to run 1000 point games, would you guys always have a "sideboard" of sorts for your Army? Is the real answer get both so that I have options? or will there really be a big difference as a casual player?

3) I see a lot of talk about the GHB 2 changing the points around, how concerned are you guys about having to rework your lists? I know the Ironjawz are great in that most units are 180, so you can swap units around but I'm guessing this could change. Is anyone holding off on finishing a list until after the GHB 2 points are revealed?

Lists will always go in and out of flavor. This happens continuously with shifts in meta, as players keep figuring out new strong ways to play, and ways to counter that. Changes in how things are pointed also cause fast shifts basically overnight, restarting the whole process of figuring out what is the strongest way to play. I wouldn't worry too much about these things - build the 1000 point list that you like, and gradually add on to it and make changes as you see fit. There is no need to play with a side board initially, the most important thing is learning and figuring out how your army plays and how you can make best use of your units.