First attempt at blending

Lucio

As the title says, this is my first attempt at any form of blended colour scheme and I'm looking for any feedback or advice on how to get cleaner colours. Admitedly part of the problem is that the colours shown are effectively my second layer of paint, as the layer underneath turned mostly into a golden orange

Also, any suggestions on how to paint the disk of Tzeentch underneath to offset the painted colours? Would bright blues and pinks be too much alongside the flame effect?

Finally, what would be a good, lesser effect to use on individual troops, it's all well and good using a 3-4 paint job on a hero, but repeating that across 40 odd Acolytes and 30 odd Tzangor is going to get dull quickly.

IMG_20170201_232434102.jpg

IMG_20170201_240317262.jpg

Looks like your paint is either going on a bit thick. Or your blend is jumping colours too quickly. Maybe add another colour in between. Alternatively, you can try and start in the middle of the blend with very little paint on your brush and drag out towards the end. By the end of the brush stroke the brush will have very little left on it therefore creating a blend by itself.

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk

Have you tried glazing?

Pick one of the extremity colors (i.e. red or yellow) as the base coat, and then push a very, very thin glaze of the other extremity color (i.e. red or yellow) toward the direction where you want that overlaying glaze color to dominate. The glaze will tend to accumulate more toward the end of each brush stroke, so make sure each one is in the same direction..

It can take 10 coats before you notice anything, and 20-30 before its significant. However, it's the only way I ever successfully blended without using an airbrush.

TBH though, I'd initially pick two colors closer in the hue wheel to start with (i.e. yellow and orange, orange and red, etc.).