Mixed Chaos Battleline Options

Dreggs

I'm new to AoS and a returning GW addict. I have been list building and reading for the last month or so.

I like having a balanced force in most games, and suspect AoS to be no different.

Mixed chaos doesn't seem to offer a solid shooting choice that jumps out at me. I like the idea of a giant blob or two of useful models, and a few objective grabbers.

Are blood warriors a stable battleline unit that is efficient outside of a specific theme?

Plaguebearers seem strong and reasonably priced.

If I grab 30 daemonettes or bloodletters will they perform reasonably without their locus active? I suspect a lord on daemonic mount is a "good" model in most forces.

Are clanrats the go to cheap battleline unit?

Do warriors of chaos require a little more from their army to really boost them beyond the feel of an army tax?

Thanks for your advice.

I'm not super competitive and only have a handful of games with them under my belt, but I've been very happy with units of 10 Blood Warriors with gorefists.

They have a reasonable armour save, especially in cover, the gore-glave can go on the champion and can put out some alright damage, especially under a banner, they have a chance to put out mortal wounds, and they get their attacks off even in death with their no-respite rule. For their price, I think they're a great battleline option for a mixed Chaos force.

Sent from my Z958 using Tapatalk

Do you care about theme/fluff of your army? That might decide whether you take clanrats, ungors or marauders as a minimum. All three are 60pts for 10. They have their different uses, but clanrats or marauders are probably best in combat, and ungors best for capturing objectives/intentionally getting in the way due to their speed options.