Confused by Coherency

Ormly

I'm still pretty new to playing, and while I understand coherency rules, I don't really understand why they work that way. My main opponent plays FEC, and he can line up a unit of 30 ghouls in a single row across our conflict line. But I can't line up my dryads to meet them, or use them as screens nearly as effectively. Because the base size is... very slightly larger? I don't get it. What's the idea behind this? Was it meant to solve some problem? We're on v3 of the rules apparently, but some rules just seem silly, like they'd be more sensible by a third version. And this one is near the top of my silliness list.

For one thing, I just can't figure out how to use a group of 6 Kurnoth Hunters with swords at all. Makes me wish I'd built them with the other weapons, especially because $108 USD is not a small amount of money to me. I play them in 2 groups, but I was rather irritated that I had to.

• Like 1

GW has always struggled with the mm to inch conversion. The fact that having 25mm bases are a super power that allows you to do things fundamentally different from what every other base size can do is stupid, but it's been a feature of the game since launch, and they only made the discrepancy worse in 3.0, not better, so it seems unlikely to go anywhere any time soon.

The move to w/in 1" of two for units of 6+ was terribly executed given how many elite units come in 3s, but again, they went through with it anyway so it doesn't appear to be much of a priority for them. The problem it was meant to solve was units of 30 being strung out across the entire board, and it sort-of solves that, but at great cost to a lot of stuff that wasn't problematic at all. 

A less proud, more openminded company would have adopted some version of cloud coherency the way most modern systems do. But that isn't GW. GW always wants to come up with its own solution, even if it's far inferior to the solution everyone else came up with years ago.