New to Death

Aelford

Hi everybody,

I’m new to the Death Faction. I like to build and paint towards an army list but need your help to do so. 

I'm unsure which direction to take the army with all the different sub factions. Ideally I want my army list to be as competitive as possible but also contain as many of the models I like and own. 

Models I like include Nagash, Mannfred, Arkhan, Neferata, Guardian of Souls, Zombie Dragon, Corpse Cart, Vampires, Necromancer, Black Coach, Dreadblade Harrows, Chainghasts, Bladeghiests, Grimghast Reapers,  mounted Knight of Shrouds and Spirit Torments. 

Could you help me create a semi competitive army including the models above. I’m happy to use models which I haven’t included above if needs to be. I’m partial to Spirit Hosts and Chainrasps too! I’ve just built a Black Coach. I could happily have 2-4 of these in the list. Not keen on the Hexwraiths after building some. 

Edited by Aelford

Hey, I'm new to this as well so keen to see what kind of replies you get.

I took the plunge into AoS in Feb with Mortal Realms. 

Always loved NH so it seemed like a no brainer getting drip fed two armies.

What with rona and all I found myself with money to spend I couldn't spend in the pub/restaurant/gigs etc.

I cracked hard and just started accumulating plastic.

There's a lot of options in the book.

I'm sitting on about 5k of useable stuff but no clue where to start with a build.

Greetings Servants of the Undying King 👻

without checking too much, I see Nagash, add some nighthaunt rasps and you‘re set.

generally speaking the iirc Legion of Grief (part of LoNagash) could use most of your figures. Arkhan, Necromancer and vamplord, corpsecart with rasps and reapers sounds pretty good. Strong magic and better resurrection.

Don’t know about the nighthaunt Heroes, NH is even less competitive than LoN, but both can be fun and strong in friendly games.