Jump to content
  • 0

Removing models and further attacks during combat phase


Azlak the Damned
 Share

Question

Hi all, I'm looking for clarification. 

Say a unit has 3 separate melee attacks it can use in a combat phase (assume all 1" range). It uses the first attack and slays 4 enemy models. The opponent removes 4 models from the front and this then puts their unit out of range of the remaining two weapons available to the attacker. Can the attacker still use these weapons?

I have always played it as they can't buy a recent opponent quoted the multiple attacks rule as saying they could attack.

What is the answer?

Thanks,

Andy

Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 7
1 hour ago, Azlak the Damned said:

Hi all, I'm looking for clarification. 

Say a unit has 3 separate melee attacks it can use in a combat phase (assume all 1" range). It uses the first attack and slays 4 enemy models. The opponent removes 4 models from the front and this then puts their unit out of range of the remaining two weapons available to the attacker. Can the attacker still use these weapons?

I have always played it as they can't buy a recent opponent quoted the multiple attacks rule as saying they could attack.

What is the answer?

Thanks,

Andy

You can make all three weapon profiles because wounds are allocated after the Damage of all 3 profiles is added to the damage pool.

Page 7 Corerules, Allocating Wounds

Quote

ALLOCATING WOUNDSOnce all of a unit’s attacks have been resolved, add up the damage that was inflicted. The player commanding the target unit must then allocate a number of wounds to the target unit equal to the damage that was inflicted.

 

Edited by EMMachine
  • Like 4
  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

In the actual rules you do not remove/damage/slay models until all the attacks made for a unit have been completed. Most people just remove models as they go to keep track since you have so many wounds and dice rolls to keep track of some people feels it’s easier to do it as it comes.

So you cannot deprive a unit of any of its attacks except for simple overkill when there is no point in attacking further because everyone in the opponent’s unit is now dead.

You can of course remove models to deprive another unit that hasn’t attacked yet if more than one unit is fighting the same one being attacked.

Edited by King Taloren
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

Also, worth noting that if a unit charged it can always pile in 3” - even if the models it charged have been removed.

For example - 2 of your units charge 1 enemy unit. Your 1st unit completes all its attacks and wipes out the enemy unit. Your 2nd unit can still pile in 3” towards the nearest enemy model, even though there are no enemy models within 3. This can sometimes mean you get to attack something else. This works really well with weapons that have a 2” or 3” reach.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...