Starting Ironjawz 1000 pts.

velocitydog

Hi all,

I'm just getting into AoS with Ironjawz and am taking a crack at a first 1000 pt. list (BTW the advice and discussions on this forum have been really helpful).   I don't have much right now - Megaboss, 2 units of brutes and Ironskull's boyz that I've been using in small battles to get used to the rules.  For 1000 pts. I'm thinking:

Megaboss

Warchanter

5 Brutes

5 Brutes

Ironskullz's boyz

3 Gore Gruntas

Ironfist battallion

980 pts.

A good next step?  Thanks in advance for any advice!

velocitydog

Excellent questions.  Here are my (very) preliminary ideas.

Right now my units consist of a Megaboss, two units of Brutes and Ironskull's boyz.  I'm growing the list slowly focusing at this point on units that will have utility in pretty much any list...hence the Warchanter and Gore Gruntas. 

Point-wise I'm thinking of eventually around 2500 total...enough for a 2000 pt. list with sufficient extra models to add some variety.  I also like lists with variety...a mix of units for the aesthetics as much as anything.  Fortunately from the lists I've seen this seems to work well for Ironjawz.

There aren't any models I don't like but I would prefer lists with no allies...just a personal preference.

Thinking about units I would like to add, a Megaboss on Doom Cabbage is a given...love the model and it's a really good unit from everything I've read.

A Shaman seems essential, especially in larger lists.  My impression is that, despite the nerf, a unit or two of 10 Ardboyx are good to have near the shaman.

I'm very unfamiliar with the Endless Spells but they seem well worth including, esp. the Cogs.

Same goes for the Ironfist Battalion...just too good not to include.  I see Bloodtoof showing up in more lists...need to read more.

velocitydog

18 minutes ago, velocitydog said: