Assembling & Painting Mounts & their Riders - Procedure?

awcamawn

How do y'all go about assembling and painting cavalry models (including humanoids riding beasts/dragons/giant dinosaurs)? Assemble mount and rider separately, paint separately, then attach together? Any trick to making sure you don't mess up your paint job if you are attaching two fully painted pieces? Or do y'all prefer to fully assemble the model then paint? Does it depend greatly on the model in question? Any general tips or lessons learned from cavalry assembly would be appreciated. 

More specifically, I am completely new to the hobby and am wondering how best to proceed with my Sisters of Twilight and Sisters of the Thorn models. I have the Thorn's Steeds of Isha complete and have just finished putting together the dragon mount of the Sisters of Twilight. Am I right in assuming that these models in particular would benefit from painting rider/mount separately, as each Sister stands upon their mount rather than sitting (leaving any unpainted area or any area that was simply hard to reach or paint properly underneath the rider easy to notice)? I'm no perfectionist and have not painted anything since grade school, just want to have some fun learning to paint to a decent tabletop standard while avoiding any mistakes during assembly that could make life hard for a novice painter later on.

Also with a big, detailed, oddly shaped model like the forest dragon should I wait to pin it to the base until after I have spray primed it? Perhaps even wait to put it on its base until it is fully painted? If I do wait to attach him to the base, what is the preferred method for manipulating such a large model while priming and painting? Go ahead and put some long pins in the model's foot and stick those into a large cork or the like? Any rule of thumb for placing such a spindly model on its base to where it won't look off center later?