Kitbashing as a beginner

SolarBur

Hey there all. 

So i've been wanting to do a little something more with my clan pestilens, not so much them unique, because i have no modelling experience before so i don't want to get out the greenstuff just yet. So i've wanted to kitbash them. And there is a lot of rats in this army (51 in my planned 500pts), so i've been getting a touch of the nerves as i have done beforehand with previous armies over the years. 

I saw one of the staff members armies he was working on today. A small minotaur army, which happens to be my first opponent of the new year with my clan. That is going to be a very bloody fight xD

But i was looking at his army, all the little additions, banners, trinkets, head armour. All from various parts he had. So i started to wonder what could i do with my plague monks, but i wasn't quite sure. Bits are hard to come by on the bits sites in the uk for some reason, but i have two boxes of flagellants as a good starting point. So lots of parchments, books, bells, scrolls and pouches. Even a few weapons that are roughly the same size as plague monk hands. So i have a good choice of bits to work with. 

What i'm not sure of is how much to put into the unit. If i had a 20 man unit, how many should i add bigger bits to, is it going to be simple enough to do a few weapon swaps for the double hand weapon unit, and what to do with the stave unit. I'm trying to keep it simple as i can, just so i don't overwhelm myself like i have done many time before, but i can't help but wanting to do a bit of kitbashing so my units don't just look straight from the box. 

Could anyone give me advice to help me out with this ? I know my question was a little all over the place, but i found a little difficult on how to word it ^^:;;

Welcome to the real hobby! :D