Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
  • 0
DarrinTheOccult

Blue scribes on Balewind Vortex

Question

Hi, we have had a question about boon of tzeentch of blue scribes on balewind vortex.

It says: "Boon of Tzeentch has a casting value of 4. If successfully cast, you can re-roll casting rolls for friendly Tzeentch Wizards wholly within 18" of the caster for the rest of that phase."

So the thing is, does that 18" count as range of the spell for adding the balewind extra inches? In my opinion it doesn't count as the wizard casts the spell on himself and then he has that ability, which has 18" of range and is independent of the casting itself. My friend opines that the range of the spell are those 18". Who is right and why?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Since the spells range is increased by 6" and not its effect, I think you are right.

Another example:
SCE Knight Incantor stand on the Balewind and has successfully cast the Everblasing Comet. Now you can set up the Comet within 42" insted of only 36". When it was setup the damage range stays 10".

Bad example, range for setting up Endless Spells cannot be incresed (MS FAQ).

Another example:
SCE Knight Incantor sucessfully cast his signiture spell where every enemy unit within 18" suffers 1MW and gets -1 to charge. If she/he is on the Balewing Vortex every enemy within 24" will be effected.
But if she is using a spell where you can pick a point on the battlefield within 16" and every unit within 3" will suffer damage. You can pick a point within 22" instead, but the 3" damage radius stasy the same.

Edited by AndyPa

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

It does work:

 

"Q: Sometimes a spell will have an area of effect (e.g. all models from a unit that are within 18" of the caster, or all models within 3" of a point on the battlefield that is within 24" of the caster). If an ability increases the range of the spell, is the size of this area of effect increased by the same amount as the range is increased?

A: If the area of effect is measured from the caster, yes. If the area of effect is measured from a point on the battlefield, no – the ability will increase the range to the point on the battlefield instead. To carry on your example, if an ability increased the range of a spell by 6", then in the first case the spell would affect all the models from the unit that were within 24" of the caster instead of 18", while in the second case the range of the point on the battlefield would be 30" instead of 24" but the spell would still only affect models within 3" of that point. Note that if area of effect is measured from a point on the battlefield, and that point is ‘anywhere on the battlefield’, then an ability that increases the range will have no effect on that spell."

(https://www.warhammer-community.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/8f9bd00c.pdf, page 4)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...