New to AoS/Stormcast - Army help?

vanderbilt005

Hi everyone :D

I'm wanting to get into AoS and it has been probably a good 15+ years since I've played any sort of warhammer so I figure I am coming into it as a complete newbie again. After looking over all of the various models I have fallen in love with the Stormcast Eternals and was looking for some advice on whether my planned out starter army is decent. I'm looking to have fun and be somewhat balanced so that I can both win and lose :D Also a question for stuff like Staunch Defender, does the entire unit need to be within the 6" of the Castellant or just a single model for the bonus to apply? Finally any suggestions/tips/ideas on how I would build this out to a 2000 point list? I'm pretty lost with the battalion stuff and as far as looks go about the only models I really don't like are the Vanguard Hunters. Love pretty much everything else however.

This is what I am thinking about starting with:

Lord-Castellant (100)

- General

- Command Trait : Staunch Defender

- Artefact : Mirrorshield

- Mystic Light : Lantern of the Tempest Lord

-Relictor (80)

- Prayer : Bless Weapons 

10 x Liberators (200) -Warhammers - 2 x Grandhammers

10 x Liberators (200) -Warhammers - 2 x Grandhammers

5 x Judicators (160) -Skybolt Bows

5 x Judicators (160) -Skybolt Bows

3 x Prosecutors with Stormcall Javelins (100) - 1 x Stormsurge Tridents

First, welcome back!  I too, took a many year hiatus from wargaming and then fell in love with the Sigmarines. 

Second, you only need a single model to be in range of staunch defender for the entire unit to benefit. 

Third, mystic lights are artifacts, thus the Castellant cannot take both a mirror shield and lantern of the tempest Lord. 

Fourth, people generally don't take such a large quantity of battle line outside of any battalion requirements or synergies, such as in the Vanguard Wing.