Forming a new army

Jester

Hello people,

I am fairly new to AoS. Bought, built and painted my first army in the previous months. This is a FEC army which consists out of 80 Crypt Ghouls, 6 Crypt Horrors, 6 Crypt Flayers, 1 GKonTG, 1 Ghoul King, 1 Necromancer, 6 Crypt Ghast Courtiers, 2 Mournghuls and 1 Nagash. I bought all this purely based on the rule of cool. I liked the miniatures and they kind of fit together, they let me play open play matches and I have a lot of fun with them. 

Now that I want to start a new army, I want to put in some more thought. I want an army that has good synergy and hits hard and plays differently from my FEC rush army. I have bought the GHB17 but would like to see what you guys think is a hard hitting and synergised army. Hope you guys can help a beginner out and give me some pointers. 

Thanks in advance :)

If all you want is "Different from FEC, good synergy, and hits hard" then you have SOOO many options. Stormcast, Disciples of Tzeentch,  Beastclaw Raiders, Freeguild, Sylvaneth, etc.

A few more questions to narrow it down:

You still should do models you like: Rule of Cool is great because game rules can change. Are there any models or armies you like the look of?

What KIND of army do you want? FEC has little army and is kinda swarmy. Do you want to go hardcore elite? Magic heavy? Lots of shooting?

Are you ok with factions with only a few options, or do you want a lot of variety?

The only thing I can say for certain would be to try out another Grand Alliance, and a mix army of that Grand Alliance could be an option to, give you a LOT of variety and mix and match synergies as you want. The ORDER subforum here has a pinned thread listing all the abilities that affect ALL Order units, so you can have synergies across an entire Grand Alliance!

10 minutes ago, flamingwalnut said: