Flying and another thing

Ric

Question

Hi guys, this might seem like a dumb question but I'm unsure about the rules for flying. If a model has a fly attribute can they literally move anywhere on the table? I know they can't go within a certain distance to an enemy... Also, if they fly in round 1, do they land in round 1, and can then charge that turn, or are they in the air so to speak for the rest of the turn, and land during round 2?

Also, if you retreat from combat, is there a penalty for doing so? Like, does the enemy get a free hit or something? It seems strange to be able to just disengage?

Again, apologies if these are dumb questions, but I'm new to the game and have only played solo thus far!

Cheers!

8 answers to this question

You can move up to your movement characteristic, usually 12". You can ignore terrain and other models as long as you end your move more than 3" from an enemy but not more than your movement from your starting point. 

The drawback of retreating is that you cannot then charge later in the turn. (unless you have a special rule)

Flying units follow all the regular rules for movement, combat, etc. that a non-flying unit would follow.  The only exception to this is, as per the 4-page rules, "If the warscroll for a model says that the model can fly, it can pass across models and scenery as if they were not there".   In addition, follow any additional rules that may be located on that specific units warscroll.

'Landing' is not a thing in Age of Sigmar rules.  A unit that is flying is still considered to take up a physical footprint on the table the same as any other model would (unless a special rule located on a warscroll specifically dictates otherwise).  You measure to and from the model (or base) as you normally would.