Brand new Player Seeking Advice

EchoHavoc

Hi guys,

I'm completely new to AoS and I'd love some advice. After going into my local GW store I have decided (after a long chat with the store Manager) that Chaos is for me.

My local scene is (I think) pretty competitive, by that I mean the guys at the store (from watching our local gaming nights) aren't afraid to bring the cheese/filth, they are all decent generals and all attend regular events, meaning they want competitive practice games. kunnin ruk, clan Skryre, Kurnoth Hunters and death spam is common place (I don't actually know how 'hardcore' those armies are, but they all seem rather nasty). 

I'd like to point out that I in no way, shape or form want to netlist or just bring the most ridiculous army available. I'm just after advice on whats good for Chaos. Mostly as a starting point, because I don't want to get destroyed everytime I play.

Aside from playing at my local store I'd also very much like to get into the tournament scene for AoS. Therefore, I'll be building a 2000 point army. 

The issue I'm facing is that I have absolutely no idea, what works and what synergies well together. I'm sat with the generals handbook in front of me and still have no idea what to actually buy. I think I'll be going with a mixture of Khorne, Slaves to Darkness and Rats. I like the idea of bodies to take objectives but want to be able to pack a punch.

Any advice on starting a Chaos army would be much appreciated.