Jump to content
  • 0

Kharadran Overlords Embarking rule and deployment.


Mark Williams
 Share

Question

The rules for ships say that you can set up a ship  and declare which units are in the ship. I as playing someone tonight who used the wording of the rule to shorten the deployment process, by putting a ship on the table and several units into the ship as well. Is this possible without a battalion? I had thought that you would put a ship down then "deploy" each unit in the ship separately .

Link to comment
Share on other sites

6 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

He is correct. The rule for the arkanaut ironclad and frigate is declare what units are on board when the ship is setup on the battlefield instead of separately.

 

Much like transports in 40k when they are deployed. You deploy them all in one setup instead of setting them up as if they were separate units. This is one of the only special rules that allows for more than one u it set up at a time outside battalions 

Edited by King Taloren
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

Even in 40k, the way I have played transports is that I only set them up at the same time if the transport was purchased as part of the unit. Otherwise, I put the transport on the table and then deploy units in subsequent turns inside of it.

Nevertheless I agree with how it’s worded. It just seems like a loophole to me...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • -1
1 hour ago, Mark Williams said:

Even in 40k, the way I have played transports is that I only set them up at the same time if the transport was purchased as part of the unit. Otherwise, I put the transport on the table and then deploy units in subsequent turns inside of it.

Nevertheless I agree with how it’s worded. It just seems like a loophole to me...

Transports in 40k are supposed to be the same deployment style it’s been discussed in a warhammer community article back when they released 8th Ed. To lessen the number of drops for a better chance of initiative just like battalions in sigmar since there is no equivalent in 40k.

and all transports are purchased individually in 40k now.

Edited by King Taloren
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...