Jump to content
  • 0

ReRolls and Unmodified effects



Hexgorger Skulls cause spellcasting attempts near them to fail on an unmodified roll of an 8, and further bad things then happen. Successful spellcasting rolls near a Bloodsecrator must be re-rolled. If my opponent is near both and rolls a successful 8, does it fail or get re-rolled?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 answer to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

According to the Designers Commentary on re-rolls, modifiers and successful/failed rolls, if a re-roll is dependent on a success/fail condition, the actual roll is compared to the required value do decide if the re-roll is warranted.

For example, if an attack has a To Hit of 4+ and a rule states that failed  hit rolls  must be re-rolled, then if the dice roll is 1, 2 or 3 then it must be re-rolled even if modifiers would make the roll succeed. A combination of a +1to hit and this rule can conspire to turn a "good" roll bad: You roll a 3, which is going to be a hit with the modifier, but you are forced to re-roll.

Back to your issue.

You roll an 8 and re-rolls are considered. Looking only at the casting value required, this is a success and must be re-rolled due to the Bloodsecrator. If you roll an 8 again the casting roll succeeds compared to the casting value, and this is overridden by the Hexgorger Skulls and hilarities ensue.


Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...