Jump to content
  • 0

Command Trait - Mastery of Death


Sneedlewoods
 Share

Question

Hi Mates,

the Command Trait - Mastery of Death - says:

"At the start of your Hero Phase, all friendly Death Units within 6" of this General may immediately make a move of up to 3" as if it were your Movement Phase. They may not run as part of this move."

Is it possible for example to get my Black Knights out of combat with this move to let them charge in again in the Charge Phase? Or may I not do any retreats with this movement?

Thanks a lot for your help.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1
On 1/2/2019 at 12:45 PM, King Taloren said:

Since it says move as if it was the movement phase i would say no you cannot charge as a result of using this. 

You can still make your 3” move to retreat out of combat if you can get out of the within 3” of your opponents unit. If it was just a straight up move without saying movement phase I would say you could charge afterwards.

This is correct per the Core Rules Designer's Commentary p.5:

Q: Some abilities allow a model to make a move out of sequence 
(in the hero phase, for example), or to make a specific type of 
move (a ‘6" retreat move’, for example). Can I run when I make 
these moves?
A: You can only run if the ability refers to making 
a ‘normal move’ (which includes any move made 
‘as if it were the movement phase’) and the ability 
doesn’t specify the distance of the move. Note that the 
restrictions that apply to normal moves (not moving 
within 3" of the enemy, and having to retreat if they 
start within 3" of the enemy) also apply to normal moves 
made in any other phase. Also note that the increase to 
the unit’s Move characteristic for running only applies 
to that move

  • Thanks 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

Since it says move as if it was the movement phase i would say no you cannot charge as a result of using this. 

You can still make your 3” move to retreat out of combat if you can get out of the within 3” of your opponents unit. If it was just a straight up move without saying movement phase I would say you could charge afterwards.

  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...