Jump to content
  • 0

Vanguard Wing's Bearers of the Storm ability interacting with Judicator's Chained Lightning



Bearers of the Storm:
...If a hit roll for an attack made these Liberators or Judicators is 6 or higher, make two wound rolls rather than one.

Chained Lightning:
If a Judicator with a Shockbolt Bow scores a hit then the bolt explodes into a storm of lightning. Instead of making a single wound roll, roll a dice and make a number of wounds rolls equal to the number scored.

How do these two abilities interact if a Judicator with a Shockbolt Bow rolls a 6 on his attack? Does he get 2d6 wound rolls? Does he roll as normally and if he gets a 1 then it's upgraded to a 2 ("rather than one")?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

Hello there,

There is no official GW FAQ for this yet. But you can look at various different rule-packs for tournament stating the following:

Q: How does the Shockbolt Bow (D6 wound rolls on a hit) work with the Vanguard Wing battalion's Bearers of the Storm ability (6 or higher to hit "make two wound rolls rather than one")
A: If you roll a 6+ to hit, then the initial attack will cause D6+1 wound rolls (so the abilities do synergise but by addition, rather than multiplication - so it's not 2D6 wound rolls). 


I Think the above to be valid, as there is only 1 hit roll and the d6 trigger from the hit. The batallion simply ADD 1 extra wound Roll.

The blessed weapons prayer is another thing - as it grants another hit Roll and therefore potentially another d6.

hope this helps


Link to comment
Share on other sites

I agree - it needs a FAQ and D12 would be stupid(potentially 2D12 with blessed  weapons), and this is for 1 model.

but i don't see multiplication as a valid interpretation with how the rules is written.

both chain lightning and bearers of the storm is triggered of the +6 hit roll(and there is only 1 hit Roll) and the extra wound roll from bearers of the storm is only 1 wound roll since chain lightning is not triggered. Chain lightning is an ability and not the actual attack profile of the shockbolt bow 


Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...