Jump to content
  • 0

The word "Characteristic" and its interaction with abilities


Kirjava13
 Share

Question

When warscrolls, abilities, spells or anything else reference a "characteristic", are they referring to the unmodified stat?

For example: on the Dreadscythe Harridan/ghost Hormagaunt warscroll, the ability, "Harrowing Shriek", has the following wording:

Quote

Subtract 1 from hit rolls for attacks made by enemy models within 3" of this unit unless they have a Bravery characteristic of 6 or more.

Emphasis mine.

Say a unit of Dreadscythe Harridans are fighting a unit of Ironjawz 'Ardboyz, who have Bravery 6 on their warscroll. The Nighthaunt allegiance ability, "Aura of Dread", subtracts 1 from their Bravery, making it 5. Which number is used for determining whether "Harrowing Shriek" is in effect: the modified or unmodified Bravery characteristic? Do the 'Ardboyz get -1 to hit, or not?

A second example: the Nighthaunt spell "Spirit Drain" has the following wording:

Quote

If successfully cast, pick an enemy model within 18" of the caster that is visible to them. Roll a number of dice equal to that model's Wounds characteristic. For each 6+, that model's unit suffers 1 mortal wound.

Emphasis mine.

Say a Nighthaunt wizard successfully casts "Spirit Drain" at a Treelord Ancient, who has taken some damage and is down to 8 wounds. Which number is used for determining how many dice are rolled for "Spirit Drain": the modified or unmodified Wounds characteristic? Does the Nighthaunt player roll 8 or 12 dice?

Edited by Kirjava13
Added second example
Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 answer to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 2

It entirely depends on the wording of the abilities in play.

In your first example, Aura of Dread subtracts 1 from the Bravery characteristic so does reduce the Ardboyz Bravery to 5. 

In your second example, Spirit Drain rolls 1 dice for each wound on its targets wound characteristic. Wounds taken are not modifiers to the wounds characteristic so when targeting a Treelord Ancient the Nighthaunt player would always roll 12 dice for that spell regardless of how many wounds the Treelord Ancient had taken.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...