Jump to content

Bailey The Cat

Members
  • Posts

    9
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Posts posted by Bailey The Cat

  1. On 3/9/2019 at 5:21 AM, Ratcliff said:

    The only reason I had blades was because they were already built that way. Blades used to be better and far easier to batch paint. I'm also still not convinced staves are better anyway. They definitely are in completely optimised situations, but I have yet to find myself in such a situation. Blades are better all rounders imo

    Agreed.  When running multiple units of monks I'm planning on still having 50% of so use Blades because they are more effective on their own. 

  2. 1 minute ago, ItzMercy said:

    Ok... I'm super confused with Gobbapalooza. Are they 240 each or 240 points for all five? I feel like if they're 240 for all five then surely it's a no brainer? 2 wizards + the abilities from all of them for just 240 + you could also add the battalion? On the age of Sigmar app, I can add up to 6 (not 5) for 240 points, but that just doesn't seem right, am I missing something? Thanks!

    It is 240 for all five together.  The thing people are complaining about is that the Gobbapalooza doesn't perfectly fit into more themed lists.  They don't really apply any benefit to Squig/Spider riders or Troggoths.  Having 2 cheap wizards is nice but remember that they are not heroes, so they cannot take spells from the lores or artifacts.  They only get access to the basic spells on their warscrolls and endless spells (and any realms of battle spells for the battlefield)

  3. Spiderfang question.  I'm thinking about the Scuttleboss with Black Fang and Monstrous Mount (+plus Shaman with Totem of the Spider God and Venom of the Spider God) combination and I believe I've been doing this wrong.  My first interpretation was that all of his 8 attacks (4 spear, 4 spider) do 4+D3 MW for each unmodified 5+ rolled to hit.  After looking closer at the rules as written, I'm thinking that Black fang only applies to his 4 spear attacks AND only applies to 6's (doesn't get the benefit of the Totem of the Spider God).  

    So instead its 4 attacks from the spider doing 4MW on 5+; 4 spear attacks doing 4MW on a 5, 4+D3MW on 6

    Is that correct (sorry if this has been discussed in this thread already, I wasn't able to find anything with the search function)?

  4. Regarding the Liber Bubonicus discussion, its important to note that the item says exactly: "The bearer can use the Plague Prayers ability from the Plague Priest scroll (page 114). If the unit is a PLAGUE PRIEST, then it can cast Plague Prayers twice in your hero phase."

    This means that a Plague Furnace would now have 4 total prayers, its own 2 Noxious Prayers plus the 2 Plague Prayers from the Plague Priest (on foot) warscroll.  Since the artifact uses bold "PLAGUE PRIEST", you are to check the keywords of the bearer.  In this case, since the Plague Furnace has the PLAGUE PRIEST keyword, the second sentence applies and it gets the ability to use those 2 Plague Prayers twice.  Note that the double-cast ONLY applies to the two Plague Prayers, not the Plague Furnace's original two Noxious Prayers. 

    That means that the Furnace with Liber Bubonicus artifact and the Master of Rot and Ruin command trait would actually get to use three prayers (1 of Noxious Prayers, and 2 of the Plague Prayers) per turn, with rerolls for all of them.  

    This might get FAQ'd to state that you only get two casts of Plague Prayers if the unit already had access to that ability, or two total Prayers

  5. In a "Pure" Pestilens force (all units are Pestilens with the allowed exception of a Masterclan General), Plague Monks become Battleline.  If the General is also Pestilens, Nurgle becomes an allowed Ally (the ONLY allowed ally within Skaventide).  But to take Nurgle units, you now no longer have 100% Pestilens and cannot use Plague Monks as battleline.  Seems clear to me, but that is also somewhat upsetting.

    On the otherhand, if you Include a Master Moulder in a mixed clan army, you can still make use of his buff on any Hell Pit Abominations you would otherwise include, and any number of Clawlords in a mixed clan army can get command traits. 

    Skaventide's clan/ally rules are pretty unique but I don't know if that's a good thing.

  6. 1 minute ago, amysrevenge said:

    In this case, the ability does specifically state otherwise.

     

    "...that unit is eligible to fight in the combat phase if it is within 6" of an enemy unit instead of 3", and can move an extra 3" when it piles in."

    Good call!  Don't have that book handy but didn't know it made that distinction.  Then this battalion does help out squig hoppers a bunch.

    • Like 1
  7. 18 hours ago, Devan said:

    Can someone confirm if this is correct, it seems like a neat idea. 

    If I am using the Squigalanche Battalion and the Bad Moon is affecting my units that means all my Squig Hoppers can retreat from battle if they are in one, hop over the enemy to do some damage, end outside of 3" but within 6" then in the combat phase I will be able to attack with my units before the opponent can attack those units since the opponent can't select their units to pile in from more than 3" away. So I would get to retreat, deal moving damage, and attack (before the opposing unit goes) all in the same turn. That seems fun.

    Per the "WARHAMMER AGE OF SIGMAR: CORE RULES & BASE SIZES" Designers Commentary:

    Q: If an ability allows a unit to pile in more than the standard 3", can the unit pile in and attack in the combat phase if it is more than 3" from the enemy? A: No, unless the ability specifically states otherwise.

×
×
  • Create New...