Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

stekr

Members
  • Content Count

    15
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

9 Judicator

About stekr

  • Rank
    Liberator

Recent Profile Visitors

172 profile views
  1. I'll try and break it down once more: Spells and abilities that do mortal wounds (cannot be manipulated by Destiny Dice, those dicerolls are also not mentioned in the list of rolls stated in the battletome) After you resolve an ability or a spell (X amount of Mortal Wounds) the target suffers that in DAMAGE (as per the core rules). So, Destiny dice don't let you manipulate the mortal wounds, because manipulating mortal wounds is not on the list. However, AFTER that. the mortal wounds result will be applied to the target as DAMAGE (as per the core rules). And that's where Gotrek kicks in, because he changes that damage to 1. Gotrek's ability doesn't change damage ROLLS, it flatout changes the DAMAGE to 1 MW's =/= Damage Rolls, however they do result in DAMAGE (as per the core rules). *In my previous post, with THOSE dicerolls I meant the spell/ability effect dicerolls. sorry for the confusion there. I'm interested in hearing where you think my logic goes awry
  2. Except it doesn't. The FAQ mentions a specific situation: Q: can I use fate dice to determine the number of mortal wounds inflicted by a spell or ability A: no Also because the DoT Battletome does not list those dicerolls that can be manipulated by Fate Dice.. I don't understand why such questions and answers should function as a blanket statement for the core rules. this is a rules clarification to the DoT Fate Dice mechanic. And in no way, shape or form should affect the core rules of AoS. Atleast that's what I think, but feel free to explain why a FAQ of a single mechanic of a single faction should overrule the core rules for all other situations. *Maybe MW's arent DAMAGE as such, but after you resolve them on the target you inlfict them as DAMAGE. (that may be the reason why you can't manipulate MW's? Dunno, speculating here...) But as soon as the amount of MW's is determined, the outcome is DAMAGE (as per the core rules). Which will then be changed to 1 by Gotrek
  3. Except they do, in the Core rules the paragraph of Mortal Wounds state: MORTAL WOUNDS Some attacks, spells and abilities inflict mortal wounds. Do not make hit, wound or save rolls for mortal wounds. Instead, the damage inflicted on the target is equal to the number of mortal wounds that were suffered. Allocate any mortal wounds that are caused while a unit is attacking at the same time as any other wounds caused by the unit’s attacks, after all of the unit’s attacks have been completed. Mortal wounds caused at other times are allocated to models in the target unit as soon as they occur, in the same manner as wounds caused by damage from an attack.After they have been allocated, a mortal wound is treated in the same manner as any other wound for all rules purposes. I.E. 1 MW = 1 Damage
  4. Good question, I've encountered the same situation yesterday with an Ogor's charge ability. the Ogor ability let's you roll dice equal to the charge roll (in this case it was 11) for each roll of 4+ a mortal wound is dealt. However. since the UNIT has the ability, and the ability is only triggered once. damage from that one ability (let's say 6 dice were a 4+) would be 6. Which Gotrek then would change back to 1 damage because of his ability: If the damage inflicted by an attack, spell or ability that targets or affects this model is greater than 1, change it to 1. I'm quite certain the rules as written are the rules as intended in this case. Since Gotrek is quite strong against a single SOURCE of incoming damage. So you look at the source of the damage. A single attack can deal 1 damage, a single spell can deal 1 damage. a single ability can deal 1 damage. So you have to look how many times the Ability gets triggered. if the ability does d6, 2d6 per model or 12d6 mortal wounds on a 6+ afterwards is irrelevant, because it only triggers once, and therefore it can only deal 1 damage. Now for the confusion around the MW's =/= damage: As per the core rules: MORTAL WOUNDS Some attacks, spells and abilities inflict mortal wounds. Do not make hit, wound or save rolls for mortal wounds. Instead, the damage inflicted on the target is equal to the number of mortal wounds that were suffered. Allocate any mortal wounds that are caused while a unit is attacking at the same time as any other wounds caused by the unit’s attacks, after all of the unit’s attacks have been completed. Mortal wounds caused at other times are allocated to models in the target unit as soon as they occur, in the same manner as wounds caused by damage from an attack.After they have been allocated, a mortal wound is treated in the same manner as any other wound for all rules purposes. I.E. 1 Mortal wound equals 1 Damage This way the rule makes most sense to me. but i'd love to hear what you guys think if you disagree
  5. The main reason why I am confused about the rule is that Models with the Flying Keyword ignore the rule. That would suggest that there is a height limit to the obstruction of the terrain, otherwise the exeption of the rule for flying models make no sense (to me). (and I think that if we play a game where the rules make no sense, there is little sense in playing the game at all) So, if the wyldwood impares vision for models on the ground, but it does not to models in the air. I think it would be safe to assume that there's a point (up in the air) where the Line of Sight is no longer blocked by the Wyldwood. If so, where would that be?
  6. I believe that when you can see a model you can shoot it, But since there's an obstacle between your unit and all of the enemy models are within 1" of the obstacle, it has a bonus to saverolls. You draw line of sight from each individual model from your unit to the model that is visible, and since wounds spill over onto other models you can effectively shoot the entire unit.
  7. Not looking to destroy the dude though, just want to bring something to the table that can counter his strengths a bit better than my current setup. Thanks a bunch for the advice @Lucky Snake Eyes @Waiyuren @sinksinksink @Yoshiya
  8. I think Flying might be key here indeed.. Tzeentch does have access to some nice Flying Ranged units and heroes so I will try that next time, thank you
  9. I get that rule as written. for example dryads should not be visible when they are "in" the woods. So, for instance: if you would deploy the models on top of the wyldwood I would say that they are visible eventhough they fall into the footprint of the wyldwood base. (hopefully we're on the same page so far) (if not, I truly would be interested in arguments as to why I would not be able to see the dryads). Following that same logic I think it is very strange that a model that is belly deep into the leaves, exposed from the torso up, would be invisible. But maybe i'm just not seeing the reasoning behind the rule.
  10. I played Disciples of Tzeentch: Mortal focused with 10 pinks to rake in some extra blue horror points
  11. the thing is.. I did try to fight in a Wyldwood, (mostly because I had to, because 2 of the 3 objectives were in the forest after his turn 1) and I faced 20 dryads which gave my models a -1 to hit. I simply could not fight my way through them.
  12. Hi, My opponent put his Treelord in a wyldwood, and said I could not see nor target him with shooting and/or spells. Which I kind of get because of the 1" LoS rule the Wyldwood has. However.. the Trees are only about 5" high, and bigger models like a Treelord stick out like a sore thumb. I feel like I should be able to shoot/magic them because there IS a line of sight. What do you guys think?
  13. Hi, I keep getting my AoS (see what I did there?) handed to me when playing against a local Sylvaneth player. The last couple of games he deployed his woods either on or right next to objectives. I lost first turn because of the battalion he plays, and once I got to my turn I was looking into the barrel of two wyldwoods on two different objectives. How would you handle an opponent thats firmly dug in and you have to fight him on his terms? In a 1k match he brought: Branchwraith Treelord Anchient Drycha Hamadreth Branchwych Tree revenants Dryads I'd like to know what you guys would bring to the table and how you'd counter the list
  14. What's your guys opinion on Greatswords? On the facebookpage i'm on they get a lot of criticism, due to their price cost. But in my games I always get a lot of bang for my buck. In the last two games i played against Sylvaneth they took Drycha down in a single Combat round. People seem to dislike them because they're only 10 wounds for 150 points, but when used offensively they can turn out a whooping 21 2+ 2+ -1 Rend attacks. I make sure they attack first, so that there's no attacks coming their way after that. The new edition will come with certain warscroll updates, We've seen many abilities change due to the "wholly within" updates. Do you guys think that other factors may be affected like rend on weapons or, hit and woundrolls?
  15. Hey Bottle, Fantastic Campaign although i do have a question. Models with the Hero keyword start with 50 experience. (lvl 5) Does this mean that they get to roll 5 times on the Advancement Table before the campaign starts? Or do you not roll and is this just a measure that makes the general less Overpowered at lvl 10?
×
×
  • Create New...