Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Glazer

Members
  • Content Count

    13
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

9 Judicator

About Glazer

  • Rank
    Liberator

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Targets are picked before the attack sequence starts. See Picking Targets on page 6 to the core rules, and Making Attacks on page 7. Important quotes are: "When unit shoots or fights, you must first pick the target unit(s)... before any of the attacks ... are resolved." and "Attacks are resolved one at a time using the following attack sequence." Hope that helps!
  2. Check out this article (especially towards the end where it addresses balance): https://www.warhammer-community.com/2019/07/22/warcry-preview-campaigns/
  3. There is this from the core rules design comments for Reserves: "Q: Some abilities allow you to remove a unit from the battlefield and set it up again, and say that this ‘counts as their move for the movement phase’ (or words to that effect). Do these units count as having made a move for the purposes of any other rules or abilities? A: No, it simply restricts them from making a move later on." Hope that helps!
  4. The restriction on casting a spell only once per turn is a core rule now, so applies in all games: 'You cannot attempt to cast the same spell more than once in the same turn (even with a different wizard).' (Core rules page 8, Casting Spells). However, the 'Command the Land' command ability from the Realm of Ghyran realm rules overrides this restriction, allowing you to cast the spell multiple times as long as you have enough command points to do so, including in Match Play games.
  5. Models are slain, but units are destroyed. See page 2 of the core rules design commentary: If a rule allows you to return a destroyed unit, for example with the Endless Legions command ability, then it is no longer a destroyed unit. If on the other hand the destroyed unit is replaced with a new unit that is added to your army, for example with the Moonclan Lairs scenery rule, then the original unit is still destroyed.
  6. Because points are an optional rule only used in match play, and allies can be used in any type of game.
  7. Just for the record, the precis of the Soul Cage rule in the OP is not what appears in the Nighthaunt book. Here is the text from Nighthaunt (note the emphasis on the word fight): 'Soul Cage has a casting value of 6. If successfully cast, pick an enemy unit within 12" of the caster and visible to them. Until the start of your next hero phase, that unit cannot retreat. In addition, until the start of your next hero phase that unit cannot fight in the combat phase unless all other enemy units that are eligible to fight have already done so.' TLDR Soul cage says fight, not attack.
  8. This FAQ from AOS 1 has been replaced with the following designer's commentary for AOS 2 (it is first answer under the 'Reserves' header in the Core Book Design Commentary): "Q: Can models set up in reserve (in the Celestial Realm, for example) cast spells, or use abilities or command abilities to affect other units? A: No. Only models deployed on the battlefield can cast spells, or use abilities or command abilities to affect other units." Note that the answer has been changed so that that it is specifically about the unit in reserve using abilities to to affect other units (not itself).
  9. From the movement section of the AoS design commentary (the rule is different in 40K and AoS): Q: If the height of the terrain feature exceeds a model’s movement, can it be climbed over multiple turns? Can a model run up a terrain feature? A: Yes to both questions. A model may need to spend several turns climbing an especially high terrain feature (you will need to remember how far it has climbed each turn, and measure distances and visibility to or from that model as if it were in that location).
  10. I agree, although counter-intuitive, once you stop being able to select units to attack, the rules say that you can't do so for the rest of the combat phase: "If one side competes all of its attacks first, then the other side completes all of its remaining attacks, one unit after the another." However, I think I would let my opponent off if this happened when I was playing .
  11. I agree with the others, you don't have to attack with the models in an 'activated unit' - I was just answering the question, "Can you not activate a unit in combat." It's correct to say that you don't have to make any attacks with the models in a unit that is selected to attack; however, if you have any units left to select, you must pick one and carry out its attacks. Once you've selected a unit, you can choose not to make to hit rolls etc for the models in it.
  12. You missed out the important bit between those two quotes: "The player whose turn it is picks a unit to attack with, then the opposing player must attack with a unit, and so on until all eligible units on both sides have attacked once each." Note the word 'must', and that the player whose turn it is, is simply told to pick a unit (not 'they can pick a unit').
×
×
  • Create New...