Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Dez

Can a hidden assassin claim VP in Three Places of Power?

Question

Curious question, but I'm not reading a definitive way to say no.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

11 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1

If the model isn't on the board I doubt he can hold an objective. You don't really have any way to establish distance from the objective. I don't see anything explicitly giving an answer on this, but I would think the assassin doesn't count as being on the board until he is actually on the board.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 1

There's an answer in the general FAQ which would extend to this situation (page 2 The Rules FAQ). You cannot use abilities (e.g. the Lord Celestant cannot pop his command ability when off the table in the Celestial Realm). The same logic would apply to scoring an objective. 

This is up there with trying to win with Carrion to score without being attackable as being an absurdity/unintended exploit, as opposed to a good combo.

Edited by Nico
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I would think so too...but wondering about it being cut and dry.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Haha trust me @Nico, the first thing we said is it's a real ****** move and goes against the spirit of the game. My worry was (even given the above which I read) it seems an oversight due for an FAQ perhaps.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

If he's Hidden you can't meet the conditions to hold the objective as there won't be HERO model within 3'' to control it. 

Does the ability FAQ even need to be applied here? 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Surely you declare (secretly) that he is hidden in a particular model for the purpose of his ability, but the model itself isn't on the table and so can't score. The assassin model is not literally 'hidden' within wherever he is, that's just part of the ability which determines where he can 'spawn' when he does enter the battlefield. Hopefully that was clear.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I also doubt whether (purposively) the Changeling can be both part of their army (to hide) and simultaneously part of your army to score/contest. I think SCGT has addressed this point (re Carrion).

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Nico, can you show me the link to the changeling ruling of the tournament. Its been a issue at my local gaming club.

Until revealed, he is part of your army. But the guy says he still contest, because its his model and its within the objective.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 13/03/2017 at 2:29 AM, CaptKeiv said:

Nico, can you show me the link to the changeling ruling of the tournament. Its been a issue at my local gaming club.

Until revealed, he is part of your army. But the guy says he still contest, because its his model and its within the objective.

 

You simply can't contest unless you are revealed. The rules for the scoring in the handbook scenarios are pretty clear.

"You control this objective if no enemy models are within x inches"

The changeling is treated as part of your army until revealed, therefore no enemy models are within range to contest. As he is treated as part of your army, he would potentially score for you as well if you really wanted to argue it, as until revealed he is treated as essentially a friendly model.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Quote

You simply can't contest unless you are revealed. The rules for the scoring in the handbook scenarios are pretty clear.

"You control this objective if no enemy models are within x inches"

The changeling is treated as part of your army until revealed, therefore no enemy models are within range to contest. As he is treated as part of your army, he would potentially score for you as well if you really wanted to argue it, as until revealed he is treated as essentially a friendly model.

We would rule it this way at London's #Calling 2017 even if there wasn't a specific rule in the Pack on the point. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I imagine if this was allowed it'd allow models containing other models (fanatics for instance) to count when determining who controls an objective.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...