Tips and advice for new or returning hobbyists

Mohojoe

Tips and advice for new or returning hobbyists

Hello there, Are you new to the hobby? Or perhaps you have been away for a large amount of time, distracted by getting ale and women/men-folk. Well don't you worry, I've got you covered. This thread is dedicated to helping you learn anything and everything you will need to know, as an Age of Sigmar Hobbyist. I will break down the thread into sections regarding different aspects of the hobby, including tips and advice that may benefit you or streamline a certain process. I am by no means a professional when it comes to any aspect of the hobby and this will not always be my opinions. Think of this thread more as an amalgamation of everyone's experience here at TGA, to ensure that you get the most out of our shared hobby. 

If you are reading this and believe that you can add something to the advice here then please check the bottom of the post for how to help. All contributions are warmly received 

So grab a drink, cast aside your weapon and kick that grot out of your favourite chair, and we will begin.

Contents:

• 1 - Hobby advice and equipment
  • 1.0 - What will you need?
  • 1.1 - Tools breakdown
  • 1.2 - Basic paint equipment
  • 1.3 - Paints in detail 
  • 1.4 - A buyers guide
  • 1.5 - Putting it all together
  • 1.6 - Conversions
  • 2 - Explaining the Game
  • 2.0 - What is the difference between the game modes?
  •  

Hobby advice and equipment 

What will I need? (1.0)

So you have caught the bug! perhaps you have seen a particular figure you would like to paint or maybe you have heady dreams of standing over a plethora of opponents at a tournament and proclaiming yourself king. Either way we all start at the bottom and we all begin with a few basic tools.

To build models you will need:

• Something to cut your models out of the sprue (The plastic frames that they come on)