Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Sign in to follow this  
Agent of Chaos

Questions about Lightning Strike ability

Recommended Posts

Hi All, apologies if already asked on the forum- all answers appreciated;

1) After completing a lightning strike move, can you charge later that turn or is the landing your entire "move", including charge, for that turn? 

AND

2) If you have a Knight-Azyros you can lightning strike within 5" of him, even if that means you are within 9" of the enemy. Is there a minimum distance to the enemy that you can deploy? If so, what is it? Or could you land within 1" or 2" of an enemy unit, essentially lightning striking into combat? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Answer for 1 is yes your unit can still charge that turn.
Answer 2 is yes you can land in combat with the Azyros as long as part of the unit is within his 5" bubble.

:)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 hours ago, Olincay said:

Answer for 1 is yes your unit can still charge that turn.
Answer 2 is yes you can land in combat with the Azyros as long as part of the unit is within his 5" bubble.

:)

Answer 2 is not correct; it is up for debate and Tournament Organizer discretion if you can land within' 3" of an enemy.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks guys! Not surprised there is a debate around lightning striking into combat as the wording is a bit ambiguous. Have you any experience with this rule being applied? If allowed does it make lightning strike a bit broken?

I suppose even if you can't land in combat you still only have to charge 3" so its probably going to be a moot point most of the time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wait does setting up a unit count as moving a unit? If yes then you can't set within 3" of an enemy unit. If it does not count as moving then you can set up within 3" of an enemy.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
21 hours ago, TDK said:

Answer 2 is not correct; it is up for debate and Tournament Organizer discretion if you can land within' 3" of an enemy.

Answer 2 is correct.  Just like all things each Tournament can decide to house rule things which this would be.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
16 hours ago, Bimli said:

Wait does setting up a unit count as moving a unit? If yes then you can't set within 3" of an enemy unit. If it does not count as moving then you can set up within 3" of an enemy.

Set-Up isn't a move but the Lightning Strike special rule specifically states it is the units move for the turn. Thus the contention.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the comments guys however have to say that the thread that Rokapoke posted the link for covers this topic in great detail (although a consensus is yet to be reached and the voting is at 55% in favour of being able to set up within the 3")

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...