New Player: What Faction to Pick for Competitive Play?

Gauche

Hello, sorry if this isn't the appropriate place to post this but the New Player Board seemed more of a meet and greet area than a place to post questions. If I'm incorrect please move this thread where it should be, with my thanks.

With that out of the way, hello! I am one of the many new players who's decided to give AoS a whirl and see if it can reinvigorate my love for the tabletop hobby. I've posted a fair few questions to Reddit but having discovered this forum today I figure it's a much better place to get some answers.

A bit about me first off: I started playing 40K during 3rd Edition and Fantasy during 8th, as well as excursions into Malifaux and other small games. I also played Warmachine for quite a long time, probably about half of the MkII duration for those of you familiar with that system. During all that time I've been very competitive in my local state meta (Arizona) and that is where my focus always falls: to being competitive and winning games. This will range from building my own competitive lists to net-decking and following the competitive meta where it leads, depending on opposition and the tone of the game I'm playing (casual vs. tournament). I never play fluffy armies or intentionally mediocre/bad lists as this isn't fun for me.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

With that out of the way, I am enrolled in a Slow Grow League at my FLGS, which seems like a great way to build up a collection and learn the ropes. I also have access to all the books for the various armies and the General's Handbook which I will be spending some time with this upcoming week. I have already delved into quite a few Battle Reports, read some blogs/discussions, etc. since research is my through and through habit.