Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
  • 0
wargamingpastor

If I have a +1 modifier to a roll can I still re-roll 1s?

Question

Example 1: Bloodletters have a +1 to hit if the unit has 20+ models. If I then have a Chaos Sorcerer cast Daemonic power on them which allows them to re-roll 1s to hit can I re-roll those 1s? Since technically with the +1 modifier those 1s are 2s.

Example 2: Chaos Marauders have an ability called Barbarian Hordes which means on a 4+ they get a +1 modifier to their hit rolls. Marauders can also take a Damned Icon allowing them to re-roll 1s to hit. If I make the 4+ for the Barbarian Hordes ability giving them a +1 to hit can I also re-roll 1s because of the Damned Icon since my 1s surely count as 2s?

Basically I' looking for an order of operations, which is applied first the re-roll or the modifier?

Thanks for any help and apologies if this has been asked/answered elsewhere, I'm pretty new to the community.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 2

Main AoS rules, "Tools of War".

Re-rolls occur before modifiers, so rerolls are always taken on the "natural" roll, and a re-roll can never be triggered/achieved by a modifier.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Modifier then rerolls I think is how it's normally played.

As you'd see which dice you rolled to hit  any 3s would become 4s etc. Then you'd reroll the failed ones.

Otherwise you'd be rerolling those 3s them adding the Modifier.

I don't think the rule of 1 being a natural fail is a thing in AoS.

I've not looked it up though as I'm working currently so I may be wrong.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Actually ignore all that. Here.

In matched play 1 is always a fail other than battleshock

Screenshot_20160911-104056.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...