Jump to content
  • 1

Getting wiped out


Sutek

Question

This week I had a game using the three points of power scenario.  By the end of the 4th turn I was up 8-4 on victory points and in his 5th turn my opponent only scored 1 point.  He did however kill my last model. 

He then claimed he won a major victory because he wiped me out but I claimed it because I had more victory points.

I couldn't find anything in the rules for this situation.  Anyone know who won?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

20 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

I believe rules as written in the scenario dictate that you win as they say nothing about wiping out your opponent. A major victory is claimed by the player who has more victory points. Only if this is tied do you consult how many points you killed to decide a minor victory. Since you were ahead on VPs, you get the major. If you'd been tied, he'd have got the minor.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The "Victory" section of the rules for the scenario mentions nothing about tabling (see pic). Yes it's a tactic and yes it might be a house rule in some gaming clubs, basements and tournaments, but by the wording of the scenario in the general's handbook, tabling doesn't get you an auto win. "The player with the most victory points at the end of the fifth battle round wins a major victory" speaks for itself to me, no mention of wiping your opponent out because the VPs are the whole point of the scenario.

I feel that the idea of tabling winning the match regardless of the scenario is a hangover from previous editions.

image.jpeg

Link to comment
Share on other sites

With the scenarios for matched play (or scenarios) they definitely override the stock rules.  So basically he has until the term limit to try to score vp uncontested. Generally if someone goes for hard killing this will be rougher. I have won many a moral victory this way. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, WAAAGHdogg15 said:

The "Victory" section of the rules for the scenario mentions nothing about tabling (see pic). Yes it's a tactic and yes it might be a house rule in some gaming clubs, basements and tournaments, but by the wording of the scenario in the general's handbook, tabling doesn't get you an auto win. "The player with the most victory points at the end of the fifth battle round wins a major victory" speaks for itself to me, no mention of wiping your opponent out because the VPs are the whole point of the scenario.

I feel that the idea of tabling winning the match regardless of the scenario is a hangover from previous editions.

image.jpeg

I was replying to braiko (forgot to quote), about "why run scenarios, then?". I was just trying to say that tabling doesnt negate scenarios, since they are not a easy fear in a 4 rounds match. :)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

9 hours ago, arnoldrew said:

Does anything in the rules say the game ends if one side kills the other? If not, a player could wipe out the other side by, say, turn three (I've seen it), and then try to run around and get objective points.

Right - the existing player can still finish up the remaining turns to try and score as much as possible.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

You won the game, simple as.

The "Can't win if you're dead"-argument is just old editions talking. The scenario victory conditons trumps everything. From what you describe, you won 8-5 since VPs aren't lost when you're tabled, only your opportunity to halt the opponent's scoring.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...