Jump to content
  • 0

Stacking


lare2
 Share

Question

When rolling to hit, you can only ever be +/- 1, just like with saves, etc. However, and again just like with saves, is it possible to stack plus and minuses? Therefore, could I be on a +2 to hit, which could cancel out a -1 to hit and still give me my +1 to the dice roll? If so, can someone point me to this in the rules? 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1

The sidebar next to 1.5.5 Dice Modifiers (on page 60 of the General's Handbook, I don't know the page number for the core rulebook) says:

Quote

In most cases, modifiers are cumulative. However, some dice rolls, such as hit and wound rolls, will specify that the roll cannot be modified by more than +1 or -1. When this is the case, add up all the modifiers that apply, and if the total is more than +1 or -1, treat it as being either +1 or -1 as appropriate.

(emphasis mine)

Thus you can stack as many +1s or -1s onto attack or wound rolls as you want, but ultimately you only care if they are a positive total in which case you get a +1; a negative total in which case you get a -1; or 0 in which case you just take the straight die roll.

Your example of stacking +2 to hit and being affected by -1 to hit is correct, you would take a +1 to hit overall. Similarly if you somehow had +100 to hit and -50 to hit, you would end up taking a +1 to hit overall.

Edited by Dogmantra
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
7 hours ago, Dogmantra said:

The sidebar next to 1.5.5 Dice Modifiers (on page 60 of the General's Handbook, I don't know the page number for the core rulebook) says:

(emphasis mine)

Thus you can stack as many +1s or -1s onto attack or wound rolls as you want, but ultimately you only care if they are a positive total in which case you get a +1; a negative total in which case you get a -1; or 0 in which case you just take the straight die roll.

Your example of stacking +2 to hit and being affected by -1 to hit is correct, you would take a +1 to hit overall. Similarly if you somehow had +100 to hit and -50 to hit, you would end up taking a +1 to hit overall.

You're an absolute hero. Thank you very much for this. Found it in the GH.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...