Hello there, new/returning player

RQItami

Hey my names Alex, 

Im a student from Germany, and Ive collected Warhammer and 40k minis or like 10 years now (mainly Vampire Counts). I actually never played a game before because I lived in a pretty rural land scape so nobody ever heared of wargaming. About a year ago I moved to a city to study so a couple weeks ago I thought I should get into AoS now that I have the chance to actually do so. 

My main problem is chosing a faction. I like big miniatures and cool looking characters. I kinda dislike horde armies and like to have some variety on the table. Playstyle wise I prefere meele focused factions with good magic and prayers. So far Ive mainly collected undead but I dont really know if they suite the named points. If you could recommend some of the factions fitting the description Id be really thankful.

Stay healthy and see you around

Itami

Welcome! I too know the paints of rural life and its crippling effect on finding games at times!

Now as for an army to play a few thoughts:

1) One thing you might try is heading to the GW website and steadily look at each army. Go through them one by one and open a new browser tab for each model in a single army. Then go through that army and look at each model; look at the rotational photos, look at the different angles; heck throw up google images and have a look at what others do. Then close the tab on any model you don't like the look of.

It's a very visually driven test, but its a neat one to see if you like all of an army; the idea but not the models; or if you like only one or two models or a lot. Sometimes it can help you make choices on what to go for. Of course its purely visual, but it helps.