Safest and Easiest Varnish?

Jator

Hi all.
I'm planning my next painting project after months without touching a brush. I will use mostly contrast, which has a reputation of chipping if you stare intensely at the miniatures.

I'm a slow painter and sometimes find the process frustrating. The idea of ruining a finished miniature in the varnishing step gives me shudders.

So as the title suggests I'm looking for a foolproof way to do it.

I have a can of Army painter's Anti-shine spray, but I bought it 5 years ago, has endured some really hot summers, and doesn't have the best reputation around.

Could you help a fellow hobbyist with moderate skill and more moderate frustration tolerance?

If you have an airbrush grab a bottle of Velejo’s brush on matte varnish. It isn’t an actual varnish but water based so less finicky about the weather. It can be applied with a brush or airbrush (preferred) and gives you one layer or protection already if you decide to apply anti-shine later. One thing of note is the finish isn’t as dull as anti-shine and looks more like a satin finish. 

I’ve had lots of frosting over the years (before I even knew what it was), it’s an awful feeling. 😕

If you prefer Citadel/don’t have an airbrush there are Citadel brush-on varnishes too - Stormshield (matt) and Ardcoat (gloss), there’s a short GW video about using them on YouTube.

I’m just beginning to look at them myself, it’s pretty humid here in Ireland so spraying’s often risky. Since I’m a slow painter anyway I reckon the extra varnish time won’t add up to much! 😅

21 hours ago, Lior'Lec said:

If you have an airbrush grab a bottle of Velejo’s brush on matte varnish. It isn’t an actual varnish but water based so less finicky about the weather. It can be applied with a brush or airbrush (preferred) and gives you one layer or protection already if you decide to apply anti-shine later. One thing of note is the finish isn’t as dull as anti-shine and looks more like a satin finish.