Skaven strategies (as beastmen allies)

Blackspine

Hey all!

I'm working on a list and building the models that I need to round it out. It's designed as a mostly objective stealing list with some punch. It's centered around beastmen as the anvil/ tar pit with skaven providing the ranged punch they don't have, as well as augmenting any fighting force.

I'm new to skaven, in particular to Storm Friends (yes, friends) and wanted to know how they perform or any well versed tactics. 

Here's the list:

• Leaders:
  • Beast Lord (axe & shield)
  • Arch warlock
  • Skaven warlord (tbd)

• Units
  • Gors x 20  (beastshields)
  • Ungors x 30 (spears & shields)
  • Gors x 10 (shields)
  • Bestigors x 20 
  • Warpfire thrower weapon team 
  • Warpfire thrower weapon team 
  • Storm Vermin x 30
  • Storm Fiends x 3 (weapon assortment??)
  • Warplock Jezzails x 3

So, there's no giant monster that I'm used to, but there are a TON of wounds.  My thought is that the beasts move forward, claim objectives and tie up any threats. Bestigors and Storm vermin can hammer on the units I choose. 

W so many warp fire throwers, I can assure that I'll outnumber people with the storm vermin.

I would like to fit in giant rats or warhounds , (rats are cheaper) but not sure what to drop or if they're redundant due to beastmen's speed. I can toss 10 gors under a stonehorn bus and not blink. 

Not sure if Storm Friends are frontline once the shooting is done or if i should protect them at all. Obviously not tossing them into a meat grinder. 

any skaven advice or what have you is appreciated.

Thanks!

(ps: i REALLY miss having monsters. doh)

15 hours ago, Blackspine said:

Not sure if Storm Friends are frontline once the shooting is done or if i should protect them at all. Obviously not tossing them into a meat grinder.