Could Sigmar Afford to Close the Gates to Azyr Again?

In attempt to steer a couple of people from dominating and deviating the thread, "So how does everyone feel about Age of Sigmar?" further, I started this thread to better allow discussion of what are the stakes in the setting of Age of Sigmar.

I am still rather new to AoS and still digesting much of the lore.  That said, I was under the impression that Sigmar couldn't really afford to allow Chaos to gather anymore control over the Mortal Realms without them be corrupted forever.  It was for that reason that the Stormcast Enternals are ultimately flawed immortals.  It would stand then if that is the case, that Sigmar can no longer afford to retreat back to Azyr and seal the gates since he would practically all ground gained during the Age of Sigmar, lose the element of surprise that came with initial SCE invasion and Chaos/Death/Destruction would much more easily access the now exposed relics, god-beasts, etc. further strengthening the foes of Sigmar and Grand Alliance Order.

• Like 1

I am curious if that is the direction that Gordrakk's narrative is heading? I feel like Sigmar will attempt to close off Azyr and Gordrakk will find a way to smash it open denying the ability of Sigmar to close it off again in the future.  This would result in Azyr gaining a much needed vulnerability and open it up as a setting for future campaigns.

It's possible that may be the direction or just a lingering threat to keep that door open. I don't see the God-king closing the Azyr gate now as that would be very extreme and reverse many fortunes in the Age of Hope when he has the power and numbers to meet Gordrakk still in open battle.

The ram might be a deterrent more than anything to goad Sigmar himself out which is what Gordrakk wants as it's his wish to have the Hammer God at his prime again as a warrior in the realms instead of a king hiding in one realm.