Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
  • 0
rion82

Engine of the God and artefacts/command traits

Question

Posted (edited)

I’d like to  know yours interpretation about the engine of the god’s warscroll,and the question is:

who gets the bonus from artefacts/command traits?

this is a model with no pg that “rides” it,but it is a hero and also a  monster,and the only part of it which  specifies that counts like mount for rule porpouse  is the crew,so i was wondering  how does artefacts/command traits works on it ?

Edited by rion82

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1

"For rules purposes, the crew are treated in the same manner as a mount."

Artefacts and command traits are definitely rules, so for their purposes the Engine model (including the Stegadon, since there is no rule to differentiate it from the Engine) is the Hero, and the crew is the Mount. The Engine lacks any rules that would otherwise limit how artefacts and traits apply (compare to the Stegadon with its Skink Chief rule).

You would be unable to apply any benefits from artefacts or traits to the Meteoric Javelins, but all other attacks are fair game.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Posted (edited)
11 hours ago, Kadeton said:

"For rules purposes, the crew are treated in the same manner as a mount."

Artefacts and command traits are definitely rules, so for their purposes the Engine model (including the Stegadon, since there is no rule to differentiate it from the Engine) is the Hero, and the crew is the Mount. The Engine lacks any rules that would otherwise limit how artefacts and traits apply (compare to the Stegadon with its Skink Chief rule).

You would be unable to apply any benefits from artefacts or traits to the Meteoric Javelins, but all other attacks are fair game.

Thank you,i’d like to have another question to be more precise:

if it goes like that than the command’s ability of the thunder lizard’s constellation “prime warbeast “,that gives +1 att to the general’s mount,only influences the crew?

Edited by rion82

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
14 hours ago, rion82 said:

if it goes like that than the command’s ability of the thunder lizard’s constellation “prime warbeast “,that gives +1 att to the general’s mount,only influences the crew?

Ooh, that's a particularly weird one, and I'm not entirely sure.

The restriction is: "A Thunder Lizard general with a Monster mount must have this command trait instead of one listed..."

I think you could make a strong argument that the Engine of the Gods is itself a monster, and the crew of Skinks are not Monsters, so if you have the Engine as your general it won't be forced to take this trait. However, as far as I know, no models actually specify whether they or their mount are individually Monsters - it's always the model as a whole that has the keyword. That's where it gets a bit funky, and you'd have to apply some kind of "common sense" or wait for an FAQ.

If you did choose to take Prime Warbeast as your Engine's command trait, though, the +1 Attack would definitely only apply to the crew. I'd recommend choosing a different model as your General. ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Thank you very much for your interest and yours suggestions,i’ll wait till faq are posted,meanwhile i’ll not take an EotG for general in a thunder lizard!😄

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Today we got an Errata for that question

Quote

Page 95 – Engine of the Gods, Description
Change the description text to:
‘An Engine of the Gods is a single model.
SKINK PRIEST: An Engine of the Gods is commanded
by a Skink Priest.
CREW: This model has a skink crew that attack with
Meteoric Javelins. For rules purposes, the crew are
treated in the same manner as a mount.
MOUNT: This model’s Stegadon attacks with its Massive
Horns, Grinding Jaws and Crushing Stomps.’

So, Artefacts that need a weapon will be useless because the Skink Priest doesn't have any.

  • Sad 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Yeah, that Errata makes things much more sensible.

As a bonus, the Prime Warbeast trait now applies to all the Stegadon's attacks and the crew's javelins.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...