Jump to content
  • 0

Double move with Aethervoid Pendulum through Umbral Spellportal?


Gistradagis

Question

Been looking through the forum and Google and, while some discussion of combining these two endless spells exist, it's always about whether the MWs are inflicted on the first or second portal, and I'm fairly certain it's on the former.

My question, however, is as follows: Predatory endless spells are moved after setting them up. Now, the wording on the Spellportal clearly states that, if an endless spell ends within 6" of one side, you can take it and set it up on the other side. So, if you do this with the Pendulum, does this new set up mean you technically get another fresh move? Since you are setting up the endless spell, not moving it?

Aethervoid Pendulum - Slicing into Reality: When this model is set up, the player who set it up can immediately make a move with it.

Umbral Spellportal - Arcane Passage: If a predatory endless spell finishes a move within 6" of an Umbral Spellportal model, remove it from the battlefield and set it up again anywhere within 6" of the other Umbral Spellportal model from this endless spell.

 

Edit: Thinking about it, RAW this makes full sense, but RAI it's ridiculous since it opens up a combo of infinite MWs, so I'm gonna guess it's a no can do.

Edited by Gistradagis
Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1

They addressed this in the faq on malign sorcery. 

 

"If a predatory endless spell finishes a move within 6" of an Umbral Spellportal model, remove it from the battlefield and set it up again anywhere within 6" of the other Umbral Spellportal model from this endless spell. After an endless spell finishes a move within 6" of an Umbral Spellportal and is set up again, it cannot move again in that phase, and you cannot use the Arcane Passage ability again for that Umbral Spellportal in that phase.’"

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
4 minutes ago, TheCovenLord said:

They addressed this in the faq on malign sorcery. 

 

"If a predatory endless spell finishes a move within 6" of an Umbral Spellportal model, remove it from the battlefield and set it up again anywhere within 6" of the other Umbral Spellportal model from this endless spell. After an endless spell finishes a move within 6" of an Umbral Spellportal and is set up again, it cannot move again in that phase, and you cannot use the Arcane Passage ability again for that Umbral Spellportal in that phase.’"

I see, thanks. Definitely didn't make sense either way as I mentioned in the edit, since you'd go in a crazy combo of infinite MWs, but it's good to have confirmation haha.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

Yea a friend of mine picked up on the interaction before the FAQ when malign first came out. We played it as they ended up writing it after some discussion deciding that the infinity geminids were not fun or likely intended. It was funny seeing it come up here again many many months later. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...