Skaven first army

DamonRafael

Hi Guys and Lads,

I'm totally new to Skaven - I've found an island of blood for something like 30euros, and therefore I'm going to start a really small Skaven force.

I did the math, and it cames up that I can reach 860 points only using the IoB stuff. Now, I want to reach a 1000 points, just to have a base to play with, and I've seen that there are few possibilities.

- Doomwheel -> 140 pts

- Stormwervin -> 140 pts

- Warplock Jezzails -> 140 pts

Now I know I can combine units which costs less, but the less money I have to invest on this, the happier I am :)

Therefore, my first choice was on Doomwheel, only looking at the price. I'm here, anyway, to ask your advice.

Is the doomwheel worth?

Should I invest, instead, a bit more money and buy 2 packs of something which costs 80+60 pts? And if yes, what should I buy?

Thank you :)

Hi DR!

To me, you have a melee based force at the moment so Stormvermin make sense for synergy and they are a great unit. 

Jezzails are also really strong, and offer shooting support

While I've only played it a few times in AoS, I've found the Doomwheel a bit disappointing. However if just making a second army for fun and you like the look of the Doomwheel (who doesn't?) I saw go for it!

Hi Dez! 

I missed to say that I will also integrate in the army one of the Skaven from Silver Tower, just because I have it and is a model less to buy! :P

You're correct indeed when you say this will be a side army, actually a 3rd army :) I already have a Bloodbound force and a Seraphon one.

And that's why I really want to keep the Skaven one a budget army!

Well as you say, Doomwheel looks great! I really like the model - I gave a quick read to the WS and it was.. average, i would say?! Never had the change to play against it, so your feedback is really interesting!