Played 40k for a few years and always thought I wouldn't get into any fantasy game again.

Saturmorn Carvilli

Hello,

I have been in involved in tabletop games on and off of decades starting with D&D.  I played so much D&D when I was younger that even now I am still burned out on Tolkien/Gygax fantasy.  So when I started playing miniatures war games (as playing TTRPGs became tougher and tougher to keep groups together) I kept a good distance from anything fantasy. 

I started miniatures war gaming with Dust Warfare transitioning into Dust Tactics Battlefield with the gaming group I was playing with made the rules switch.  However, when Battlefront and the game creator Kickstarter dispute came to a head and they parted ways, so too did my gaming group trying a couple of games of Dust 1947.  The group started playing Warmachine which is still too much generic fantasy for me.  I started playing Bolt Action and other historical games no earlier than the black powder era. 

I played historicals (mostly Bolt Action) until a little into Bolt Action 2nd edition.  I didn't really care for the addition of templates (Dust Battlefield had me dislike them) as well as a few other changes and lack of changes elsewhere.  So that combined with the announcement of 8th edition Warhammer 40k pretty much ended the player base locally for me.

I had played a little of 7th edition 40k but mostly Heralds of Ruin Kill Team.  Which I will maintain that 7th edition 40k works fine for a small skirmish game but has too much going on to bother with at even platoon level.  I also played a little bit of 8th edition but took a break until the introduction of the latest Kill Team.  It was Kill Team that really brought me back to miniatures war gaming.  I started really playing it regularly in November of 2018 and still consider it my primary game as I play it pretty much every week.