Starter army(need help)

bigpaul0909

Hey im very new to AoS, as in i walked into a warhammer store, was pushed toward a SCE battletomb and soul wars box(i didnt buy the soulwars box, i did buy the tomb just from him for answering my questions i had for 30mins...).  Anyway i have NEVER played a tabletop game except dnd and i enjoy painting minis, which had me stumble across AoS, and then in turn having me walk into a store.  So I read through the SCE battletomb, they dont seem like they are for me but it did give me a brief explanation of some other factions and (without every playing a game)general rules for the game.  So i dont quite understand how to build an army or to make it viable.  I was told online to pick a army that fits you and visually you want to play, so here it is, I love the look of untamed beasts and Slaves of Darkness.  I see they are in the same faction so could you guide me in the right direction to making a melee focused 2000pt army with those? is this viable? is it at least semi competitive to play in my local store?  I like these models and these "hero" on GW website so id love to figure out how this could work.

Start Collecting! Slaves To Darkness Collection

Slaves to Darkness Untamed Beasts

Darkoath Chieftain

Darkoath Warqueen Marakarr Blood-sky

Chaos Sorcerer Lord

TLDR:Id like help to build a melee focused army with SoD and UB with some cool heros, never played AOS no idea if this is even viable, i just would like some guidance before buying 300$ worth of plastic, and i dont want to go back to the warhamer store without more info as last time i felt i was just pushed into buying things i didnt want to even look at.

A few thoughts to help you along :)