Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
BaylorCorvette

Legions of Nagash Battalion choices?

Question

Am I understanding correctly that there are only two Warscroll Battalions that ANY Legion can use (Deathmarch & Castellans of the Crimson Keep) and that the other Warscroll Battalions can only be used with their associated Legion? Furthermore if that is the case and you're playing Soulblight, can Soulblight only use the Deathmarch or Castellans of the Crimson Keep Battalion?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

5 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

This is answered in the FAQ

Q: Can the warscroll battalions for specific Legions be taken outside of the Legion named on their warscrolls?
A: The First Cohort can only be taken as part of the Grand Host of Nagash (because the other Legions cannot include Nagash). Any other battalions for specific Legions can be included as part of a different Legion as long as that Legion also includes the Mortarch that must lead it. For example, to include the Court of Nulahmia in a Legion of Sacrament army, the army would also have to include Arkhan the Black (because if the Legion of the Sacrament has any Mortarchs, one must be Arkhan).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
32 minutes ago, Hellstorm42 said:

This is answered in the FAQ

Q: Can the warscroll battalions for specific Legions be taken outside of the Legion named on their warscrolls?
A: The First Cohort can only be taken as part of the Grand Host of Nagash (because the other Legions cannot include Nagash). Any other battalions for specific Legions can be included as part of a different Legion as long as that Legion also includes the Mortarch that must lead it. For example, to include the Court of Nulahmia in a Legion of Sacrament army, the army would also have to include Arkhan the Black (because if the Legion of the Sacrament has any Mortarchs, one must be Arkhan).

Oh thanks I must have missed the second part of that. I recall the part about Grand Host of Nagash, maybe that's what I was thinking of.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
4 hours ago, Hellstorm42 said:

In the thread you mentioned, near the top, there is a FAQ question that directly contradicts what you just said.

The warscroll batallions in a battletome belong to ALL factions in that battletome. Soulblight can take Crimson Keep, Deathmarch, Nightfall Pact, or any other warscroll battalion in the Legions of Nagash book. 

It doesn't contradicts. Legions of Nagash is a Battletome that was released before 2.0 and has a Fraction mentioned over the Battalions Name. The FAQ point you are quoted is for Battletomes released after 2.0 that don't have a  a fraction mentioned over the  at on the Warscroll Battalion. Castellans of the Crimson Keep have the "Death" Faction over the Battalions Name (so it isn't part of the FAQ Entry you quoted). The FAQ point for those Battalions that are in books released before the Corebook 2.0 is this one:

Quote

Q: The rules say that a warscroll battalion can include allies
and that they don’t count against the number of allies in the
army. Does this rule only apply to battalions that share the
same allegiance as the army, but that have units from two
different factions (a battalion in a Daughters of Khaine army
that has Daughters of Khaine and Stormcast Eternals units,
for example)?
A: Yes. The faction a warscroll battalion belongs to is
shown on its warscroll, above the title of the battalion
.
In addition, the battalion is assumed to belong to the
Grand Alliance that its faction is a part of. Warscroll
battalions that share the same allegiance as an army
can always be taken as part of the army, and if they
include any allied units, these units do not count against
the limits on the number of allies the army can have
(or against the points limit that can be spent on allies
in a Pitched Battle). An army can include a warscroll
battalion of a different allegiance to the rest of the
army, but if it does so the units in it do count against the
limits on the number of allies the army can have (and
the points for the battalion and the units in it count
against the points limit that can be spent on allies in a
Pitched Battle).

 

Edited by EMMachine

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • -1
13 hours ago, BaylorCorvette said:

Furthermore if that is the case and you're playing Soulblight, can Soulblight only use the Deathmarch or Castellans of the Crimson Keep Battalion?

For this part. Soulblight are not a Legion and can't even use Crimson Keep because the Battalion is marked as Death Battalion, not as Soulblight Battalion. (It was posible in the 1.0 Rules, but 2.0 basicly makes the entire content of the Crimson Keep allies because it is not marked as a Soulblight Battalion though all units in it are soulblight).

The reason why the Grand Host and the three legions can use all Battalions of the Legions of Nagash Book is because on Page 60 their is a rule "Legions of Nagash" that gave all Warscrolls and Warscrollbattalions the Keyword of the Legion.

The entire story to the Allegiance and Battalion thing you can read here:

 

Edited by EMMachine
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • -1
9 hours ago, EMMachine said:

For this part. Soulblight are not a Legion and can't even use Crimson Keep because the Battalion is marked as Death Battalion, not as Soulblight Battalion. (It was posible in the 1.0 Rules, but 2.0 basicly makes the entire content of the Crimson Keep allies because it is not marked as a Soulblight Battalion though all units in it are soulblight).

The reason why the Grand Host and the three legions can use all Battalions of the Legions of Nagash Book is because on Page 60 their is a rule "Legions of Nagash" that gave all Warscrolls and Warscrollbattalions the Keyword of the Legion.

In the thread you mentioned, near the top, there is a FAQ question that directly contradicts what you just said.

Quote

Q: Some warscroll battalions included in battletomes do not have a faction listed above their title. How do I determine which faction they belong to for the purposes of allegiance abilities?

A: The battalion belongs to all of the factions in that battletome. For example, the warscroll battalions in Battletome: Stormcast Eternals are part of the Stormcast Eternals faction.

The warscroll batallions in a battletome belong to ALL factions in that battletome. Soulblight can take Crimson Keep, Deathmarch, Nightfall Pact, or any other warscroll battalion in the Legions of Nagash book. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...