Ironjawz strategy/tactics thread

N_Watson

Hi all. I am an Ironjawz player in need of some help. 

For a bit of background, I am new to the hobby. Played fantasy way back when and have only just started playing and collecting again back in May. So I have been doing what most new people to the hobby do and playing small games and building up to a bigger army. 

I started with playing games of 1000 points when the generals handbook came out and have now started playing games of 1500 and 2000 as more people in my group and myself have started collecting more models. 

At 1000 points, I do very well. I think this is in part to playing on a smaller board and having to think about less things, but I am quite confident at this size. 

I have played 4 games above this size now against Sylvaneth at 2000, Sylvaneth at 1500, Bloodbound at 1500 and Beastclaw raiders at 1500. I have been decimated in all of them. Pretty sure it's a combination of bigger board and having powerful heroes with my Megaboss on Mawcrusher in 1500 or Gordrakk in 2000. I just don't seem to get enough done with them. 

Looking to use this thread to discuss tactics in generals handbook scenarios on 6,4 boards at 1500 to 2000 points. 

On a slightly more selfish note, I wouldn't mind some specific tips on how to use my lists. They are ultra competitive, and I could eventually change them to be a bit more competitive, but the hobby fund has run dry for now, and this is what I have, 

Gordrakk/Megaboss on Mawcrusher (Gordrakk at 2k and MBMC at 1500)

Warchanter

Wierdnob/Black orc Bigboss (Depends on what I am facing)

Megaboss

15 x Brutes

10 x Ardboys

3x Gore gruntas

In my last game, I lost 3 gore gruntas in one turn to a stonehorn charge, then lost priority and lost 5 brutes and my warchanter to the same stonehorn. By turn two, I had lost a 3rd of my army without doing any damage and it all started by putting my gore gruntas in a place where they could get charged.