Questions about alliances (Grand or small)!

PiotrW

I've been thinking a little yesterday on how the various armies mix in AoS... and I have (surprise! ;) ) questions! Please don't get angry for me pestering you - I'm a newb...

Anyway...

1. If I understand correctly, when using the Pitched Battle mode of play, you have limits on how many units that don't belong to your main army you can take. As in: if you go for a 1000 points SCE army, you can only include up to 200 pts of non-SCE units. Also, you are limited by the Grand Alliance and the list of allowed allies assigned to each army. But these limits don't come into play if you choose to go with a non-specific Order army, right? In such a configuration, you can mix Order units with no restriction to points and listed alliances? So, for example, you cannot have Sylvaneth allied units in a Daughters of Khaine army - but in an Order army, you can use both Sylvaneth and DoK units, is that correct?

2. Even if the above is allowed, would there be Grand Alliance armies with unit combinations that could cause people to be annoyed fluff-wise? For example, the Skaven belong to Chaos... but they have almost no possible allies even among other Chaos armies. Which fits the fluff, with the Skaven being a somewhat isolated race. But, if you make a general Chaos army, you can field Skaven units along Slaaneshi daemons etc., Slaves to Darkness etc. Could there be that someone would say: "Sorry, this army just makes no sense, rules or not"?

3. All of the relates to Pitched Battles... But what about Open and Narrative Play? Are there restrictions on choosing allies, too? Or could I make a 1000 points SCE army (employing the SCE allegiance abilities etc.) with 400 points of DoK allies? Or, say, a DoK army with Sylvaneth allies?