Jump to content
  • 0

Tabling Your Opponent


Scott_K
 Share

Question

If an army is wiped out before the end of round five, and the battleplan states to total victory points at the end of round five, what happens?  Does tabling your opponent prior to the end of round five grant a major victory?  Which takes precedence?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

8 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 7

The points take precedence over tabling your opponent in Sigmar. You still play out to round five and then total what points both sides have. You can still win even if you have nothing on the table if you earn enough points before round five. There is no instant win condition for tabling your opponent outside of most likely going to score more points in what is left of the game.

Though this does depend on the win conditions of the battle plans you are using. As there are a couple of plans which you win instantly if you control all objectives at the end of turn.

Edited by King Taloren
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1

4 GLORIOUS VICTORY Most battleplans will tell you
when the battle ends and what you need to do in order to win the game. If neither player manages to achieve a victory then the game is considered to be a draw.
If the battleplan does not explain how to win the battle, you must slay all of the models in the opposing army to win a major victory. If neither player has done this by
the end of the fifth battle round,
the player that has slain a higher percentage of models in the opposing army than they have lost from their own army wins a minor victory.

 

 

So the only time you win like that is if you are not playing any regular objective games and just playing to murder each other.

Edited by King Taloren
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1
1 hour ago, Scott_K said:

So... you could hypothetically wipe out your opponent's army, play one or more battle rounds by yourself, and still lose.  That's absurd.

That’s the game rules. If your opponent manages to score more than you or even make it impossible to score any more points than that is a win for him. Which is an actual ways battles have been won realistically 

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1
On 7/16/2019 at 2:44 AM, Scott_K said:

So... you could hypothetically wipe out your opponent's army, play one or more battle rounds by yourself, and still lose.  That's absurd.

No, thats rules

And I'd argue much better rules than death-balling your opponent without any thought 

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1

Think about it this way. The battle you're playing is just one part of a grander campaign. Even if the opposition died to the last warrior, they still managed to hold your army back long enough, spoiled your plan to use the power of a powerful artifact, etc.

There are examples of this in real life too, where one side in a battle was wiped out but still managed to do enough good so that their side eventually won the campaign or the whole war.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...