Comparing haunts to courts as a new player.

EdisonWeaver

I am new to Sigmar!  I would like to collect a  death army and the two that really get me are Nighthaunts and Flesh Eater Courts! But I don't know enough about the game to know how they really play on the table, and I love the lore and Aesthetic of both (Might get both eventually, but I can afford one right now). 
How do they both play? And I know courts are a hoard army, but are the Haunts? Or are they more elite? (I like having fewer, better painted models overall).
I am also more interested in fun to play, over raw competitiveness, though winning CAN be very fun :)

Hey there, welcome to Age of Sigmar!

First things first: Flesh Eaters Courts have plenty of potential to be super elite! Both the Horrors and Flayers can be battleline (the main part of your army) and you can even have an army ENITRELY out of Zombie Dragons and Terrorgeists! So, while you can just have hordes and hordes of Ghouls, there are many options to play them.

Nighthaunt have a lot more variety to them. I am not much of an expert on them (reading more into them now) but they have a mix of speed, relative durability, and some literal scare tactics. They feels like an all-rounder, doing a little bit of everything but nothing super well. They do have the benefit of anything from the Soul Wars box can also be used in a Legions of Nagash army, giving you more healing and MUCH more options. 

So, if you want hard hitting berserkers who can have a lot of speed and absolutely brutal combat phases backed by nasty buff spells, the Flesh Eater Courts are for you! 

If you want a more all-around army that has disruption, some sneaky tricks, and a variety of playstyles, Nighthaunt might be more up your alley! 

If you want lots of shooting, you'll need to find a different Grand Alliance. lol But seriously, both of these armies can be a lot of fun!