Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Sajbiot

Wholly within or just within when determining cover bonus

Question

In the the rules for Cover it says:

"Add 1 to save rolls for a unit if all of its models are wholly on or within a terrain feature when the rolls are made"

My interpretation of this is that it is allowed for models in the unit to have its base being outside of the terrain as long as the base is within the terrain. However, I have experiences of people interpreting this as all models need to be wholly within the terrain. What is correct?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

5 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1
2 hours ago, Sajbiot said:

In the the rules for Cover it says:

"Add 1 to save rolls for a unit if all of its models are wholly on or within a terrain feature when the rolls are made"

My interpretation of this is that it is allowed for models in the unit to have its base being outside of the terrain as long as the base is within the terrain. However, I have experiences of people interpreting this as all models need to be wholly within the terrain. What is correct?

 

I am no English expert, but I guess "[...] wholly on or within [...]" is simpy a shorter form of "wholly on or wolly within". So, yes, I am pretty sure a unit has to be wholly within a terrain piece to receive cover (meaning all models have to be wholly within).

Edited by Isotop
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

In that case it would be that all models have to be complete in range, but this is mostly counting for close combat because there is also the Obstacles Rule (and most terrainfeatures are Obstacles), where all models habe to be within 1" to get cover and behind it, against Missile Attacks.

Quote

OBSTACLES
Some terrain features are obstacles
that block attacks to targets that lie
beyond them. When this is the case,
it will be noted on the warscroll for
the terrain feature.
When a missile weapon targets an
enemy unit that has all of its models
within 1" of an obstacle, then the
target unit receives the benefit
of cover if the attacking model is
closer to the obstacle than it is to the
target unit.

 

Edited by EMMachine

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I don't completely understand your answer. You are saying that all models have to be "complete in range",  do you by that mean wholly within the terrain?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Isotop, yeah, that seems to be exactly the case. Thanks for the clarification!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Yeah the ruling is if you decide to declare terrain as a set. Like ruined walls as an entire terrain feature that might not have bases to show being on/inside so this ruling allows you to grant cover to that area if a unit is wholly within the boundaries set.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...