Let's speculate on the upcoming 1k games specific rules

Following the Warhammer Fest reveal on the upcoming 1k games specific rules, I am rather excited to give tje opportunity to throw even more money out of the window in buying viable smaller armies.

Being a complete newbie, what do you think they will change to scale AoS to 1k points games ? What could they do to make the experience different and yet similar to 2k games ? Do you think they could go alternative activations / phases for small games ?

I'm excited about this too, as my painting had slowed down recently (stupid new job) and 1K armies are seeming much more likely for me to be able to produce.

I'm wondering if it will be something to do with unit categorization. At the moment armies that can take cheap battleline and then a bunch of elites are in a good position, so I wonder if they'll make the army selection rules more restrictive.

• Like 1

My bets are:

1) Single Battleline req, heavily restricted behemoths and leaders
2) Smaller boards to make movement matter more
3) Objectives that aren't just "hold place on map w/ the most models"

These would solve the biggest problems with smaller games, imo. Big units and Behemoth spam encourages a meta of very extreme lists, and I'm pretty sure the reason people feel movement matters more on a 6x4 is because it's way more full of stuff than a 4x4.

• Like 6

I can see them restricting or restructuring the points of battalions so that they are either not in the format or repriced so that they work without taking too many points out of the army. I can see them also imposing a points limit on summoning and also on characters - eg no character over 400 points or such. That would remove some of the bigger elements that can swing games heavily on their own. 

I wouldn't expect any radical changes.

I think it will be stuff like limiting the army allegiance rules like how many grave sites or wyldwoods or nurgle trees or summoning points each player can get.