Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
  • 0
Sajbiot

Is placing units in exact theoretical positions allowed even though it is practically impossible- is there a consensus?

Question

To clarify what I mean with theoretical distances. There are cases where you have to place a unit on an exact spot, which is only possible to do theoretically and not practially. Is there a general consensus whether this is allowed or not?

To further clarify what I mean, I have provided two examples. See below.

Example 1

On a scenario with 18 inches distances between the players starting territory, my opponent has said that she has placed her unit on the edge towards me. I'd like to cast a spell on that unit with a 18 inch range in my upcoming hero phase, so I say that I place my spell casting unit on my edge and exactly opposite of her unit, since that is the only spot where I could reach her unit with my spell caster.

Example 2

In some scenarios there are standard objectives 12 inch from the board edge, which make the area of capturing it being 6 inch from the board edge. Some units can be set up from reserve 6 inch from the board edge. There is only one exact position where a model from this unit has to be placed to be capturing the objective.

These are just two examples of the general question which is whether you are allowed to say that you are placing a unit on an exact position both on the horizontal and vertical axis, even though this is practically impossible.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1

Yes, theoretical distances are important, but like was said earlier watch out with the difference between "greater than" and "greater than or equal to".  If there is an 18" gap between deployment zones, then where the theoretical distance comes into play is that even if you measure the distance between opposing models and it says otherwise, it is impossible for them to be within 18" of each other (if the measurement comes up as less than 18", it can only possibly be because of an error in deploying or accidentally bumping models).

I do this all the time with summon/special deployment/reinforcements.  "I'm putting these guys over here.  They are at 9" from your unit.  If they measure as less than 9" in a later phase, that's an error - they can't be closer than 9" until someone legally moves."

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Just be careful if it’s 18” separation on deployments and you have an 18” spell it will be impossible to be in range. This is as deployment says more than  9” from opponents territory so you will by the rules be fractionally more than 18” apart. 

However in general terms it’s a very widely recognized and liked system to say to your opponent things like my intention is every model is within 6” of this objective or all models are just over 9” away from your line.

 

Edited by Reuben Parker

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

My conclusions are that it is allowed to place units in theoretical positions, but it's important to be watchful for the cases where it says more/less than x inches. I had honestly had missed that in a few scenarios. Thanks for the clarifications!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • -1

For the most part it is allowed as long as your opponent agrees to it. That’s the basic run of these theoreticals is if you say you are placing a model in a certain spot even if the exact measurement could be difficult to impossible to be super precise as long as your opponent agrees with it you are good to go.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...