Questions and advice for GHoN and Nighthaunt lists

Squeaky101

Hello, fellow followers of Nagash! This is my first post here, hopefully the first of many!

I started playing AoS a couple months ago and play with a small group of friends every weekend. As one might expect from a fairly new player, some of the more complicated rules, tactics, and army building stuff I can get caught up on. I have come here to ask some things in regards to specific units and hopefully I can play better, since I often find myself on the losing side of matches.

This is the usual list I run (we always play at 2k):

Grand Host of Nagash:

Leaders:

Arkhan the Black

VLoZD

Necromancer (general)

- Lord of Nagashizzar trait

Necromancer

- Ossific Diadem artefact

Necromancer

Units:

Skeleton Warriors x40

Grave Guard x20

Grave Guard x15

Basic skelly spam with spells / command abilities to pump them up. I proxy 25 of the Grave Guard and 2 Necromancers at the moment so I am looking to replace them with the actual models or something different entirely. It's not the strongest when it comes to LoN, since I'm not a fan of the competitive lists (dire wolves are gross, and I came here to play with skellies) but I am considering getting Grimghast Reapers to replace the Grave Guard, allowing a flexible unit to include in my future Nighthaunt lists too.

So I have a couple of questions that I hope can get answered, some of which are more advice based:

1. What is a good number of Necromancers to run? From looking at how my list holds up in practice, I probably have too many. Should I knock it down to just 1?

2. For the Grave Guard, they have a rule where on a 6+ on wound rolls, the damage of that attack is doubled. Can the opponent choose to allocate their successful save rolls to counter those bonus damage attacks, or do they save roll separately for the bonus damage attacks? I'm under the impression that it's the former, which makes this ability pretty useless unfortunately.