Slogging through the Realmgate Wars

So I am on the first Realmgate War omnibus and I am struck at how hard it is to read sometimes.  I have read a bunch of 40k stuff, and being fairly well read I understand the place of the black library in the literary firmament.  But even some of the bad 40k stories seem to work better than the realmgate wars.  I just finished Wardens of the Everqueen which started ok and then just got worse and worse and worse.  I heard the books get better after the first couple.  Is this true?  Should I continue?  Or should I just skip ahead to some of the newer books that I have heard are better.  Opinions?  Anyone share my pain?

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Yeah I'm a Language Arts teacher and I tell my students don't waste your time reading a book you don't enjoy, because life is too short.  But of course since I am a teacher I engage in a breathtaking amount of hypocrisy all the time and love to say I read a book, so I have problems putting a book down even if I am hating it.

I feel the main problem with the whole RealmWar series is that they are basically just really campaigns formed of strung out battles that outstay their welcome. You're thrown right into the middle of them right from the very first book without as much grounding as the series really needed. Furthermore you're only introduced and kept up with the Stormcast and their enemy of the book - which is neat, but the Stormcast do start to feel very "Mary Sue" when they are marching for days on end without rest or supplies; fighting huge battles; climbing vast mountains and then fighting another fight all without pause or rest. I think the lack of rest phases means there's less breakup of the events - less charcter development outside of battle.

They are a slog in many ways and I've found them heavier going and am not even through the first.