Discussion for Destruction fanatics - are you the poorer cousins, or is just how I play?

Mcthew

So, here's the thing... We've been playing AoS for a good 14 months now, mostly Order, Chaos and Death armies. With Gloomspite Gitz wetting the appetite, we took the plunge and after a few purchases over the last 2 weeks, rustled up a Destruction mix of Gloomspite with Greenskinz allies, .

First off, they look great. But then Orcses and gobbos always did look great. They are the mainstay of fantasy armies regardless of rules, and they've been the staple of Warhammer back from the days of lead bases (I used to have a few of those myself). The new models look amazing, and up to this weekend, I was looking forward to spending a hefty whack of cash on shrines, battletomes and fanatics etc. 

Until I started playing battles with them, that is.

Because - and yes this is a little controversial - the battleline for Gloomspite and Greenskinz suck. And they suck big

The battleforce we have is simple, but it's 1000 points there or thereabouts (and yes, we've gone over on allies before you ask - so it's for a mixed narrative):

40 moonclan grots (20 bows, 20 stabbas), 1 xMoonclan shaman, 1xAleguzzler gargant, 10 orruks, 5 boarboys, 1 orruk chariot, 2 x warboss

Not a rubbish army - a little vanilla, but that's 2 weeks of collecting for you. Still, you'd expect them to compete against other armies just a little, wouldn't you?

Nope. Not even close.

In the first battle against a Legion of Nagash army - they were wiped out. Utterly. First time I've seen every model destroyed by turn 4. In reply, Nagash lost a unit of Glaivewraiths... and that's it.

In the second battle, the combined firepower of Kharadron and Freeguild destroyed all the grots by turn 2 (those who didn't die, ran away), and half the greenskinz army. In the end, the result was a little more respectable than against Death - almost wiped out, but doing hefty damage to 2 Arkanaut companies.