Jump to content
  • 0

Staunch Defender Ability & Crossbow Raptors


rosa
 Share

Question

Hello there,

 

Please excuse my bad english skills.

I have two rules questions, which I cant get cleared.

1: SC General and Trait Staunch Defender:

Everyone seems to agree that this ability also count for the model with the trait itself.

But why? For me the trait clearly states, that it allows other friendly units within 9" to gain +1 save. Which mechanic states that the model itself also gets the bonus? 

 

2: Vanguard Raptors with Hurricane Crossbow:

When they have not moved in their movement phase, they get additional attacks.

When they are not deployed in the beginning and come down from the celestial realm, does it count as moved? I cant find a rule that says so...

 

Thank you Guys very much

Kind regards

Roman 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1
33 minutes ago, rosa said:

1: SC General and Trait Staunch Defender:

Everyone seems to agree that this ability also count for the model with the trait itself.

But why? For me the trait clearly states, that it allows other friendly units within 9" to gain +1 save. Which mechanic states that the model itself also gets the bonus?  

It doesn't say "other". It only says that friendly STORMCAST ETERNALS units gain the bonus and the the user is within 0" of the model.

There is also the mentioning in the corerules (PDF Page 14, for Abilities)

Quote

If a unit has an ability that affects
friendly units that are within a
certain distance of it, then the ability
will also affect the unit itself.

 

34 minutes ago, rosa said:

2: Vanguard Raptors with Hurricane Crossbow:

When they have not moved in their movement phase, they get additional attacks.

When they are not deployed in the beginning and come down from the celestial realm, does it count as moved? I cant find a rule that says so...

Units that come from the Celestial Realm will be handled like sad for the rules of Reserves in the corerules (PDF Page 2, Sentence 2).

Quote

RESERVES

Setting up a
reserve unit is not considered
a move for the unit, but it may
restrict a unit’s ability to move
in the same turn.

It's not considered a move. They can't move because they arrive at the end of the movement phase.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
1 hour ago, rosa said:

I seem to be stupid as i havent found these passages in the Rules...

no problem, you actually don't know how often the answer of rule questions can be "Corerule PDF page x, Paragraph x, Sentence z", even with players playing the game for years.

Edited by EMMachine
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...